« ZurückWeiter »
multitudes crowded around the new standard that was lifted up. The church was opened by Dr George Johnstone, 14th December 1870; cost, £1000 ; sittings about 500.
Ist Minister.-William BARRAS, from London Road Church, Glasgow. Of dained at Buckie, roth May 1860. Removed, at invitation of John Henderson, Esq. of Park, to Glasgow in December 1863.
2d Minister.-GEORGE G. GREEN, M.A., from Craigdam. Ordained lith January 1866.
FINDOCHTY. This congregation originated in the Revival of 1859-60. Preaching stations having been opened at Portknockie and Findochty, fishing villages on the coast of Banffshire, and application having been made to the Presbytery to be congregated, these two places were declared to be one congregation of the Church on 5th March 1861. Churches were built at both places. Findochty church cost £500; sittings, 400. The church at Portknockie was disposed of to the Free Church, 24th March 1869.
ist Minister.--William BIRRELL, from Leslie (West). Ordained at Findochty, 4th March 1862. Deposed for immorality, September 4, 1866.
The congregation called Mr W. Watson, preacher, in 1868, but he preferred Kirkcudbright.
In 1863 there was a division in the Free Church of Portsoy regarding the settlement of a minister. On the 26th January 1864, a petition, signed by 82 persons in Portsoy, requesting supply of sermon, was presented to the Banffshire Presbytery. The Presbytery granted the prayer of the petition, and appointed a deputation to visit the locality. On the 8th March, the Presbytery agreed that action be taken with a view to organising the petitioners, and on the 19th April the station was con- || gregated.
The church was built in 1866 at the cost of £830. A manse was added in 1869. The church contains sittings for 350. In 1865 the congregation called Mr W. James, who preferred Leeds.
Ist Minister.—NATHANAEL F. M‘DOUGALL, from Edinburgh (Nicolson Street). Called also to Stornoway and Archieston. Ordained at Portsoy, 21st September 1865. Translated to Ecclefechan in 1867.
2d Minister.-WILLIAM SIMMERS, A.M., previously of Lumsden. Inducted uth March 1868.
PRESBYTERY OF BERWICK.
The Associate (Burgher) Synod formed a Presbytery of Coldstream out of the Presbytery of Kelso in 1797. At the union of the two great branches of the Secession in 1820, the congregations in the district previously connected with the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod were added to it, and the name changed into that
of “The Presbytery of Coldstream and Selkirk.” At the union of the Secession ind Relief Churches, 1847, the congregations previously in connection with the Relief Synod were added to it, and in October of that year the Presbytery of Kelso was formed out of it, when it took the name it now bears—the Presbytery of Berwick.
DUNSE. Dunse is the most important town in Berwickshire, situated at the northern limit of the district of Merse, 7 miles south-west of Greenlaw, 101 north of Coldstream, and 15 west of Berwick.
DUNSE (EAST). The parish church of Dunse having become vacant in 1737, Lord Blantyre, who had obtained a disposition to the patronage from Mr Hay of Drummelzier, presented Mr Roger Moodie to the charge. The presentee was unacceptable to the parishioners generally, and they set themselves determinedly, but unsuccessfully, to prevent his settlement among them by opposing it through all the Church Courts. He was ordained minister of Dunse, by order of Assembly, 1738, and it was deemed necessary to have a company of dragoons present to keep the peace. Most of his opponents withdrew from the Established Church, and joined in a petition to the Associate Presbytery for supply of sermon, along with several persons in the adjoining parish of Bunkle, who had some time previously withdrawn from the ministry of Mr Hart, of that parish, because, after taking part with “ The Four Brethren ” in all the measures that led to their secession, he did not secede with them. The Rev. Messrs Ralph and Ebenezer Erskine were appointed to preach to them on the Friday after Mr Hunter's ordination at Morebattle, which took place 17th October 1739. They were afterwards supplied with sermon, upon an average, once in six weeks, till they obtained a minister travelling on the interim Sabbaths to Stitchel and Morebattle, to attend upon the ministrations of Mr Hunter and Mr Scott. First church built, 1742 ; second built, 1843 ; sittings, 620.
Ist Minister.-JOHN WHYTE, sen., from Abernethy. Ordained 12th January 1743. Adhered with the majority of his people to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod at the Breach, 1747. Died 4th March 1792, in the 77th year of his age, and goth of his ministry.
2d Minister.—John WHYTE, jun. Ordained as colleague and successor to his father, 20th August 1772. Died 1776, in the 30th year of his age, and 4th of his
3d Minister.—ROBERT LAING, from Abernethy. Called to Shiels, Dundee, Cabrach, and Dunse. Ordained as colleague and successor to Mr Whyte, sen., 230 August 1785. Deposed 1793. Emigrated to America, where he was restored, May 1796, upon petition to the Synod in this country, to his status as a minister, and became pastor of a congregation in Buffalo, United States.
4th Minister.-JOHN THOMSON, from Kilmaurs. Called to Kilwinning, Dalreoch, and Dunse. Ordained 12th August 1794. Died ist November 1838, in the 74th year of his age, and 45th of his ministry.
5th Minister.-William RITCHIE, D.D., from Princes Street Church, Arbroath. Called to Kendal and Dunse. Ordained 22d October 1839. Called to Hamilton, Canada West, in 1856, but declined the call. Received the degree of D.D. from St Andrews in 1870.
Author of A Geography of the Holy Land for Sabbath Schools ; " " Life for God, illustrated by Nehemiah ; " “ The Prodigal's Return;" “ Scripture Testimony respecting Intoxicating Wine;" “Life of Rev. James Smart, and of Rev. James Anderson ;” and “God's Judgments on India."
DUNSE (SOUTH). In 1748, Mr Hay of Belton, who had obtained a disposition to the patronage, presented Mr Adam Dickson, son of the minister of Aberlady, to the church and parish of Dunse, then vacant. The parishioners disputed his right of presentation, and called the Rev. Mr Lindsay, of Dumbarnie, to be their minister. Mr Hay's right of patronage was confirmed by a decision of the House of Peers, and the General Assembly ordered his presentee to be ordained on the 21st September 1750. So decided, however, was the opposition to his settlement, that it was deemed expedient to call in the military, as had also been done at the settlement of his predecessor, to preserve order. Many of the parishioners were highly offended with this procedure, and several of them withdrew and joined the Secession congtegation which had arisen out of the preceding settlement of a minister in the parish. A number of them, though dissatisfied, continued to attend the Established Church till the Relief movement by Gillespie and Boston, junior, began, when they identified themselves with it. They met for worship on the green in which the church now stands, till its erection in 1763. They were organised as a congregation, 1767. Mr Monteith, ordained minister, Patrick Gillies, and Mr John Middlemas, previously elders of the Established Church, constituting a session. Second church built, 1852 ; sittings, 650.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Michael Boston, then of Alnwick, afterwards of Falkirk, but the call was not sustained.
ist Minister.—THOMAS MONTEITH, previously minister of the congregation of Hyde Hill, or “ Low Meeting,” Berwick, in connection with the Church of Scotland. Called to Dunse while in that connection. Received, upon petition, into connection with the Relief Synod, and translated to Dunse 16th July 1767. Resigned, 1769. Afterwards admitted to Alnwick. Author of a reply to “ Paine's Age of Reason."
2d Minister.-ALEXANDER SIMPSON, previously of Bellshill. Admitted to Dunse, June 1774. Resigned 1784. Removed to London, where he ministered to an Independent congregation till 1787, when he was admitted to a Presbyterian congregation in Alnwick.
3d Minister.—THOMAS THOMSON, previously of Earlston. Translated to Dunse 1785. Called a first and second time to Portsburgh (afterwards the congregation of James' Place, Edinburgh), and translated thither 30th March 1797.
4th Minister. -John Watson, from Biggar (South). Ordained 21st August 1798. Translated to John Street, Glasgow, 29th May 1800. The congregation called Mr Auld, who preferred Burnhead.
5th Minister.—JOHN Ralston, from Falkirk (West). Ordained 5th August 1801. Died 30th November 1838, in the 61st year of his age, and 38th of his ministry.
6th Minister.—DANIEL KERR, A.M., previously of Ceres. Translated to Dunse ist April 1840.
NORHAM. Norham is a village on the river Tweed, 9 miles from Berwick, and 8 from Coldstream, on the road between these places.
The members of a praying society in Norham acceded to the Associate Presbytery in August 1737, and became part of the congregation of Morebattle at its formation. The Seceders in and about Norham continued to attend public worship at Morebattle till 1752, when those of them resident about Lowlin Mill petitioned to be formed into a separate congregation with its seat in Norham, which was done. Church built, 1753 ; sittings, 400.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Jerment, who was appointed by the Synod to Peebles.
ist Minister.—JAMES MORRISON, from Milnathort. Ordained 230 June 1756. Died 14th February 1824, in the 92d year of his age, and 68th of his ministry.
Author of "A New Year's Gift ”-being a Catechism for Children ; “The Crisis: "a Discourse on the Aspect of Providence, 1777 ; " Present Duty: in Treatises Relative to the Duty of CovenantRenovation;" “ The Contrast: a Plea against Popery."
2d Minister.—THOMAS YOUNG, from Morebattle. Ordained as colleague to Mr Morrison, 7th April 1812. Died 31st May 1849, in the 78th year of his age, and 38th of his ministry.
In 1844, the congregation called Mr Kidd, probationer, to be colleague to Mr Young, but certain circumstances connected with the call led the Presbytery to investigate his conduct, and cite him to appear before them, to answer charges brought against him. Failing to appear, he was suspended from his office as a preacher, and from the communion of the Church. Encouraged by a small portion of the congregation to settle in Norham, notwithstanding, he continued to preach there till 1846, when he withdrew, and turned to a secular calling.
The congregation afterwards called Mr William Deas, who declined the call, and afterwards went to America ; and Mr John Scott, who preferred going to Jamaica as a missionary, where he very soon fell a victim to the climate.
3d Minister.—JAMES T. ANDERSON, A.M., from Union Street, Greenock. Ordained as colleague to Mr Young, 23d June 1847. Died 6th July 1868, in the 54th year of his age, and 21st of his ministry.
The congregation then called Mr Archibald Bleloch, M.D. and D.Sc., who declined the call, and is now a physician in Edinburgh.
4th Minister.—GEORGE HISLOP Main, from Campbelton, Inverness, of which his father was minister. Ordained 14th July 1869.
SPITTAL. Spittal is a village at the mouth of the Tweed, on the south bank opposite Berwick, from which it is reached both by a ferry and a bridge.
The United Presbyterian congregation of Spittal was in connection with the Church of Scotland at its formation, and originated in a very peculiar way. During the year 1745—famous for the rebellion led on by Prince Charles Stuart—the south gate of Berwick, in order to keep out the rebels, was kept shut on Sabbath mornings too long to allow the Presbyterians in Spittal and neighbourhood to reach the Presbyterian chapel in Berwick, which they then attended, in time for public worship. As a relief from this inconvenience, a place in Spittal, previously used for other purposes, was granted them; and having obtained supply of sermon, they ceased to travel again to Berwick. They were organised as a congregation in 1752, and in that year had a minister in connection with the Church of Scotland ordained over them. He was succeeded after his death by another in the same connection, and that other had Mr John Lawson, also a licentiate of the Church of Scotland, ordained as his assistant and successor in 1781. In 1784, Mr Lawson applied for admission, along with his congregation, into connection with the Relief Synod, and was received. Mr Lawson accepted a call from the Relief congregation, Dumfries, and removed to that place, 1788. The congregation of Spittal called Mr Cant, a licentiate of the Church of Scotland, to be Mr Lawson's successor. Mr Cant had at the time a promise of a presentation to the parish of Ladykirk, in Berwickshire, and would not accept the call to Spittal unless they would allow the Northumberland Presbytery to ordain him. To this they agreed. He wished to keep up his connection with the Church of Scotland; and as the Presbyterians in Spittal were bent on having him, they dropped their connection with the Relief Synod. Mr Cant died while minister of Spittal, and was succeeded by another minister in connection with the Church of Scotland. In 1813 he was translated to the High Meeting, Berwick, and was succeeded in that year by Mr Whitehouse, to whom more particular reference is made below. In 1847, very shortly before the union of the Secession and Relief Churches, the congregation of Spittal, with only one dissentient voice, adopted a resolution to join the Secession Church; and this resolution was carried out successfully by an application to the United Associate Presbytery of Coldstream and Berwick. The place of worship has been several times enlarged, and now contains accommodation for 730 sitters.
Ist Minister in connection with the United Presbyterian Church. — WILLIAM WHITEHOUSE. Ordained by “Morpeth Class Ministers” as minister of the congregation of Thropton, near Rothbury, Northumberland, 27th June 1801. Translated to Spittal, 1813. Received, with his congregation, into connection with the United Associate Synod, June 1847. Died 13th October 1857.
2d Minister.—JAMES FALCONER, previously of Gatehouse. Admitted to Spittal as colleague to Mr Whitehouse, 11th July 1848. Resigned on account of ill-health, 10th October 1849. Removed to Glasgow and died there, 1851.
3d Minister.—WILLIAM PORTEOUS, from Coldstream (West), of which his father was minister. Called to Mainsriddell and Spittal. Ordained as colleague to Mr Whitehouse, 16th April 1850.
ALNWICK. Alnwick is a market town in Northumberland, 29 miles south of Berwick, and 34 north of Newcastle.
CLAYPORT STREET. This congregation originated with a few Scotsmen resident in the place, a native of Alnwick who had returned to it after a residence for some time in Glasgow, where he had attended the ministry of the Rev. James Fisher, and some persons who had belonged to the Church of England, but had become dissatisfied with its form of government and the doctrines they heard taught in it. These parties having con