« ZurückWeiter »
The congregation then called Mr James S. Scotland, afterwards of Errol; and Mr J. Faulds Henderson, who accepted Innellan.
8th Minister.-WILLIAM NAIRN, A.M., from Glasgow, Greyfriars. Ordained 31st August 1869.
KEITH (SECOND). The second congregation of Keith originated with a party in the first congregation, who withdrew from it and connected themselves with “ The Tabernacle Men,” more particularly referred to in the notice of Huntly congregation, when Mr Cowie, their former minister, identified himself with them. The Rev. Ebenezer Brown of Inverkeithing, itinerating in the north by appointment of Synod in 1803, preached in the place of worship they had erected; and they being at the time without a minister, were led by this circumstance to apply to the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Perth for supply of sermon, which was granted. Church built, 1801 ; sittings, 480.
Ist Minister.—ROBERT MOFFAT, from Kelso (First). Ordained 9th April 1806. Resigned 12th January 1817. Became superintendent of an academy in Whitby. Author of a volume of poems, and “The Duty and Privilege of Believers," a farewell sermon to the congregation of Keith. Died 28th November 1853.
2d Minister.—ANDREW KENNEDY, from Biggar (North). Ordained 10th December 1817. Resigned 4th May 1841. Afterwards located as the Synod's Missionary at La Chute, Canada East. Author of “Hymns for the Young."
The congregation afterwards became extinct. The church was sold to the Free Church.
This congregation originated about the year 1770, as an off-shoot from Craigdam. The people first met for public worship at Shiel, and afterwards at Whitehill, on a spot then called Heathery Bog. The first church was covered with heather. A more substantial structure was erected on the same site. The congregation was originally associated with Huntly and Cabrach. On 25th July 1775, Huntly, Grange, and Cabrach were disjoined, and erected into separate congregations.
Ist Minister.-GEORGE Cowie, from Craigdam. Ordained 13th February 1771. Removed to Huntly in 1775.
2d Minister.—ANDREW YOUNG, from Hamilton. Ordained at Keith 12th November 1777, as minister of Keith and Grange. Remained in Grange on its disjunction from Keith in 1785. Died 24th May 1788, in the 37th year of his age, and 12th of his ministry.
3d Minister.—John PRIMROSE, from Alloa. Called to Ireland and Nova Scotia. For some time assistant to Adam Gib. Ordained 28th July 1789. Preached also at Portsoy and Ord. Died 28th February 1832, in the 81st year of his age, and 43d of his ministry.
4th Minister.-JOHN MEIKLEHAM, A.M., from Glasgow. Ordained 31st August 1831.
CABRACH. This church is situated in the district of the same name, partly in Aberdeenshire and partly in Banffshire, which is drained by the Deveron and its tributaries—the Black Water and Rooster-and flanked by hills. A manse once stood near it, but is now removed. The sum of half-a-crown of annual-rent is paid for the church to the Duke of Richmond, the proprietor of the soil. The first church was built with turf and stone, and thatched with heather; and when sold to make way for the present building, realised the sum of £2, 8s. The present church was built in 1796-7, and cost about £60.
The congregation originated with Mr Troup, first Secession minister of Elgin. Mr Joiner, a member of Mr Troup's congregation, had sent some cattle up to the Cabrach hills to graze, and went one day to see how they were thriving. He called at Bushroot on one Thomas Christie, a weaver, who accompanied him over the hills. On their way, Mr Joiner inquired after the religious condition of the locality, and whether there were any with the fear of God in their hearts. “Nane but Tammas Christie,” was the answer which Thomas Christie gave, Mr Joiner told him of his minister, Mr Troup, and next Sabbath Thomas was in Elgin and had heard for himself, and taken his resolve to become a Seceder. For some time he travelled to Elgin, but at length left Cabrach, and “bade good-bye,” as he said, “to the land of Sodom, and turned his back upon the land of Gomorrah," and settled in Elgin. This was in 1760. About a year afterwards, he induced his minister to visit the Cabrach. On a field of the farm of Hillock, near the present church, a congregation gathered in from seventeen parishes. Mr Troup's text was Isaiah xxxviii. 14, “ Like a crane or a swallow, so did I chatter," and very powerful was the impression made. From this tinie, 1761, till 1768-9, there was occasional preaching in the Cabrach, Mr Brown of Craigdam, it is said, being one of the itinerants who preached.
1st Minister.-GEORGE Cowie, from Craigdam. Ordained minister of Cabrach, Grange, Huntly, Keith, and Auchendoin, 13th February 1771. In 1774, settled in Huntly, though still giving occasional sermons at Cabrach till they got regular supply. The first church was built during Mr Cowie's ministry.
In 1778, the congregation called Mr Isaac Ketchen, who was settled in Naim.
2d Minister.-JAMES WYLIE, from Muckart. Ordained 8th November 1780. Deposed 21st November 1781.
In 1783, the congregation called Mr R. Laing, who was settled in Dunse.
3d Minister.—David WADDELL, from Leslie (East). Ordained 15th August 1786. Resigned 1800, and inducted in December the same year at Shiels, Belhelvie.
Since that time, there has been no regular minister in the Cabrach. It was to the preaching of the Haldanes in the district, and the party spirit evoked thereby, that the resignation of Mr Waddell was owing, and the vacancy has since continued.
The congregation was reorganised, 16th April 1863, but is still without a minister.
HUNTLY. Huntly is a town in Aberdeenshire, 21 miles south-west of Banff, 11 miles south of Keith, and 33 north-west of Aberdeen.
The congregation of Huntly originated in the itineracies of the Rev. Mr Brown of Craigdam. By his occasional ministrations there, a number of persons in the town and neighbourhood were attracted to Craigdam, and became members of his congregation. Mr Cowie, the first minister of Huntly, taught Mr Brown's family while a student, and on his receiving license, Mr Brown sent him to preach to the portion of his congregation resident there. On hearing him, they resolved to form a congregation, and, if possible, obtain him for their minister. In this purpose they were joined by several members of the Established Church, who attended the
ministry of the Rev. Mr Campbell of Botriphnie, then famous in that district of country for the evangelical strain of his preaching, and by persons residing in the parishes of Keith and Grange, among whom Mr Brown had also itinerated, and who, at Mr Campbell's suggestion, had shortly before formed themselves into societies for prayer and mutual edification. These parties carried their resolution into effect, by applying for, and obtaining, supply of sermon from the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Elgin in 1772. First church built, 1775 ; second built, 1809; sittings, 340.
ist Minister.—George Cowie, from Craigdam. Ordained 13th February 1771, as minister of the United Societies of Grange, Keith, Cabrach, and Huntly. Supplied each of these places on successive Sabbaths till 1775, when he began to confine his ministrations to Huntly alone. Suspended by the General Associate Synod from the exercise of his office in 1800, for the countenance he had given to Messrs Haldane and others, then known as “The Tabernacle Men;" but continued to preach notwithstanding, and became one of the most active promoters of the cause he had espoused. Died 1806, in the 57th year of his age, and 36th of his ministry. Author of a pamphlet in reply to one alleged to contain Socinian doctrine, by the Rev. Mr Skene of Banff; and a “Memoir of Mr John Leslie,” who had been a member of his congregation.
On Mr Cowie's refusal to submit to the sentence of the Synod, a few members of his congregation withdrew from his ministry, and continued the Secession congregation in Huntly—that under Mr Cowie having virtually become Independent, though continuing to take the name of Secession. These built the second place of worship in 1809, referred to above, and were subsequently joined by several others of Mr Cowie's members.
Before obtaining another pastor, this congregation called Mr Morrison, who was appointed by the Synod to Bathgate; Mr Gilmour, who was appointed to South Shields; and Mr Charles Robertson, who declined the call, and never obtained another.
2d Minister.—JAMES MILLER, from Haddington (West). Called to Stronsay and Huntly. Ordained 11th May 1815. Resigned 22d January 1847. Died at Whitehill Grange, 16th October 1863, in the 86th year of his age, and 48th of his ministry.
The congregation then called Mr Inglis, who preferred Johnstone; and Mr John Young, who preferred Newburgh.
3d Minister,— JAMES W. MAILER, M.A., from the North Congregation, Perth. Ordained 29th August 1849. Died ist May 1869, in the 46th year of his age, and 20th of his ministry.
Author of “The Laws of Health ;" “ Philosophy of the Bible, or Union between Philosophy and Faith ;" and " Christ's Kingdom and the World's Church."
4th Minister.—ALEXANDER MILLER, A. M., previously of Keith. Admitted 14th December 1869.
BANFF. Banff is the county town and principal seaport of Banffshire, 454 miles northwest of Aberdeen, and 40 west-north-west of Peterhead.
BANFF (RELIEF). The causes in which this congregation originated have not been ascertained, nor full particulars respecting the first ministers settled over it.
ist Minister.—David SANGSTER. Translated to Perth 1787.
2d Minister.-ALEXANDER BURGESS, previously probationer of the Church of Scotland, and parochial schoolmaster of Boharm, Banffshire. Received into connection with the Relief Synod, and ordained over the Relief congregation, Banff. Deserted his charge 1795. Emigrated to America, and died there.
3d Minister.-JOHN M‘DERMID. Ordained 1796. Translated to Canal Street, Paisley, 1802.
4th Minister.—John LAIDLAW, from High Street, Paisley. Ordained 25th August 1802. Translated to Dunning 1805.
5th Minister.—William GILMOUR, from Anderston, Glasgow. Ordained 1806. Resigned 1808. Admitted afterwards to Wooler.
After Mr Gilmour's resignation, the congregation continued to receive supply of sermon for a time, and ultimately became extinct.
BANFF (SECESSION). A few persons resident in Banff, disliking the non-evangelical character of the ministrations afforded in the parish church, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Aberdeen in 1804 ; but the supply was withdrawn the following year for want of encouragement.
The union of the two great branches of the Secession in 1820 rendering success more probable, and the reasons which prompted the former attempt still existing, the station was revived in 1821. The persons attending it were organised into a congregation in 1822, when there were found to be 14 belonging to the Secession Church, and 24 belonging to other denominations. Twelve members of the congregation of Grange were shortly after added to it. Church built, 1823, at a cost of £800; sittings, 490.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Carmichael, afterwards of Burghead, but the call was afterwards withdrawn.
Ist Minister.:-WILLIAM PATERSON, from Wallacetown, Ayr. Ordained 20th April 1826. Resigned 1829. Emigrated to America.
2d Minister.–ROBERT BLACKWOOD, from Alloa (First). Ordained 20th July 1830. Withdrew from the Synod and congregation 25th August 1845. Joined the Free Church, and became minister in Aberdeen. Died 20th February 1858.
The congregation then called Mr Buick, who declined the call, and afterwards became minister of Muirton.
3d Minister.—WILLIAM IngLis, from Dunfermline. Called to Huntly and Banfi. Ordained 30th December 1847. Resigned 27th March 1855. Afterwards went to Canada, and became a minister there.
4th Minister.—THOMAS HORNE BAXTER, from Alloa (First). Called to Whitby, Houghton le Spring, Zion Chapel (Newcastle), and Banff. Ordained 14th August 1856. Resigned his charge, and became an Evangelist, 12th June 1866. Afterwards on the list of preachers. Died at Musselburgh, 11th February 1872, in the 48th year of his age.
The congregation called Mr J. Picken, preacher, in 1866, who declined the call; also, Mr Thomas Kirk, afterwards of Brechin.
5th Minister.- JOHN NAISMITH RUSSELL, B.A., from Hamilton. Ordained 22d April 1868.
ABERCHIRDER. Aberchirder is a village in the parish of Marnock, Banffshire, 9 miles south-southwest from Banff.
The congregation of Aberchirder was partly formed by members of the Established Church who were dissatisfied with the ministrations afforded in the church of the parish, and partly by a few Seceders in the district, who found it inconvenient to travel to their respective places of worship. The first supply of sermon was afforded by the United Associate Presbytery of Stewartfield, 1825. Congregation organised in 1839; church built, 1839 ; sittings, 350; cost, £270.
ist Minister.-PETER LANDRETH, from Greenlaw. Ordained 13th August 1844. Resigned 4th August 1847. Became editor of the Fife Herald newspaper. Author of “Studies and Sketches in Modern Literature ;" the “Life of Dr Adam Thomson, of Coldstream,” etc.
The congregation called Mr Swan, who preferred Comrie; Mr Brash, who preferred Wamphray; and Mr Morton, who preferred Greenock.
2d Minister.-ROBERT PATERSON, previously of Midmar. Admitted to Aberchirder, 14th October 1851. Demitted his charge, 25th May 1869.
The congregation called Mr G. F. Steven, Mr R. A. Watson, and Mr Charles M'Ewing, all of whom declined the calls.
3d Minister.-JOHN MʻRAITH, from Head Street, Beith. Ordained 29th November 1871.
GARDENSTOWN. Gardenstown is a fishing village in the parish of Gamrie, Banffshire, 14 miles west of Fraserburgh, and 8 east of Banff.
The congregation originated as a mission station in the year 1841. The church was built in 1850, and has sittings for 200. The first minister was ordained as a home missionary in 1847, and inducted ist October 1850.
ist Minister.-JOHN MONRO, from College Street, Edinburgh. Ordained 30th December 1847. Demitted his charge on account of dissensions in the congregation, 14th January 1862; afterwards of Creetown.
2d Minister.—John GILMOUR, from East Kilbride. Ordained 5th May 1864.
Certain disputes having arisen in the Free Church of Buckie, the Free Presbytery of Fordyce and the Synod of Aberdeen decided against the minister. The case was carried to the Assembly, and a committee was sent down to investigate the whole matter and issue the case. This committee reversed the findings of Presbytery and Synod, in consequence of which 80 members seceded from the Free Church of Buckie, and applied to the United Presbytery of Banffshire for supply of sermon on the 16th August 1859, with the view of being formed into a congregation. It was reported that the petitioners, 100 in number, had purchased the Mason Hall for £375, and that ministers and preachers had been preaching to them. The petition was granted, and the congregation formed on 20th September 1859. The cause flourished. A remarkable revival of religion pervaded the district at the time, and