Abbildungen der Seite
PDF
EPUB

Ist Minister.—JAMES Imrie, from Duke Street, Glasgow. Ordained 12th May 1773. Resigned 1780. Removed to Glasgow, and died there.

2d Minister-David Meek, from Kirriemuir (West). Ordained 19th No vember 1794. Deposed 25th March 1818, but afterwards restored. Removed to Edinburgh, and died there, 1845.

3d Minister.—JAMES RENWICK, from Minnihive. Ordained 6th March 1822. Died 22d October 1845, in the 56th year of his age, and 24th of his ministry.

The congregation then called Mr Cowan, who preferred Buckhaven.

4th Minister.— JOHN Buick, from Auchterarder (North). Called to Banff and Muirton. Ordained 24th March 1847. Resigned 16th January 1849. Died at Muirton 1850, in the 28th year of his age.

5th Minister.— JOSEPH LECKIE, from Falkirk (East). Ordained 31st October 1849. Demitted his charge on account of ill health, 8th June 1858. Afterwards of Millport, and Ibrox Church, Glasgow.

The congregation called Mr A. G. Fleming, who preferred Alva. 6th Minister.THOMAS Swan, from Leslie (East). Ordained 30th October 1860.

FORFAR. Forfar is the county town of Forfarshire, 14 miles north of Dundee, 31 northeast of Perth, and 12 north-west of Arbroath.

The Seceders in and about Forfar met for public worship at Dumbarrow till 1778, when, on account of distance, they were formed at their own request into a separate congregation. Church built, 1780; sittings, 470.

Ist Minister.-JOHN JAMIESON, A.M., D.D., from Duke Street, Glasgow, of which his father was minister. Called to Perth, Dundee, and Forfar. Ordained August 1780. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the College of New Jersey, United States, being the first honour of the kind conferred upon a Secession minister. Called to Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, 1793, but continued in Forfar till 30th May 1797, when he was called a second time, and translated thither.

2d Minister.-ANDREW AEDIE, from Pathstruiehill. Called to Ceres, Kinross, and Forfar. Ordained 7th October 1798. Died 8th July 1838, in the 64th year of his age and 40th of his ministry. Mr Aedie published a sermon, entitled, “A Supreme Regard to the Glory of God the Substance of True Morality."

3d Minister.ANDREW MURRAY, from Carnoustie, of which his father was minister. Ordained 8th October 1839. Demitted his charge 23d June 1857; took to farming, and afterwards became a preacher.

The congregation, in 1858, called Mr Alexander Aikman, who preferred Muckart; and Mr James M'Owan, afterwards of Bannockburn, and Perth.

4th Minister.Hugh LANG NIVEN, from Greyfriars, Glasgow. Ordained 24th February 1859. Deposed 6th January 1863.

5th Minister.—PETER WRIGHT, from King Street, Kilmarnock. Ordained 20th October 1863.

ARBROATH. Arbroath is a seaport town in Forfarshire, 18 miles north by east of Dundee, 12 west by south of Montrose, 14 south of Brechin, 15 south-east of Forfar.

PRINCES STREET. This congregation was formed by members of the congregation of Dumbarrow, resident in and about Arbroath, who, on account of the distance from their place of worship (7 miles), petitioned the General Associate Presbytery to be disjoined and formed into a separate congregation, which was done in 1782. They met in a hall in Arbroath till 1791, when they removed to a place of worship they had erected for themselves in North Grimsby Street, which, by an enlargement made in 1824, contained 714 sittings. Session premises were added in 1861, at a cost of £160. Thereafter, the whole buildings were sold, and a new church built in Princes Street, which was opened 27th January 1867, at a cost of £2600, with sittings for 850.

Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Browning, who was appointed by the Synod to Auchtermuchty.

Ist Minister.-JAMES MILLER, from Comrie. Ordained 14th July 1789. Loosed from his charge 1819. Emigrated to America, and died there.

The congregation then called Mr Hannah, who was appointed by the Synod to Fore Abbey Street ; Mr David Young, who was appointed to Perth; and Mr Alison, who was appointed to Stewartfield.

2d Minister.JOSEPH HAY, A.M., from Alyth, of which his father was minister. Called to Anstruther and Arbroath. Ordained 15th October 1823. Died 11th July 1859, in the 63d year of his age, and 36th of his ministry. Author of a “ Class Book for Bible Classes, on the Geography and Chronology of the Old and New Testaments.”

The congregation called Dr John Wilson, who preferred Glasgow (Mitchell Church).

3d Minister.-ROBERT JOHNSTON, LL.B., from Biggar. Ordained 4th December 1860. Called to Glasgow, Shamrock Street, in September 1861, but declined the call. Translated to Glasgow, Parliamentary Road, 5th December 1871. Author of “ Lectures, Exegetical and Practical, on the Epistle of James.”

ERSKINE CHURCH. This congregation originated in the dissatisfaction felt by a number of persons in Arbroath with the doctrines taught in the Established Church, and the preference they had been led to give upon examination to the principles of the Secession. They invited the Rev. Messrs King of Montrose, and Blackadder of Brechin, to preach to them in 1812, which these gentlemen did, and continued to do at intervals till their services were superseded by the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Perth granting a petition for regular supply of sermon to the place, 7th July 1814. A church was built in Fore Abbey Street, with 630 sittings, but remained in an unfinished state till August 1821, when it was opened. A new church, called Erskine Church, was opened 6th July 1851, containing 784 sittings; cost £1284, 16s. id. A session hall was added some years after, which cost £706, 19s. 5d.; repairs on the church in 1870 cost £115.

ist Minister.— WILLIAM HANNAY, from Wigtown. Ordained 15th August 1822. Died 29th March 1829, in the 38th year of his age, and 7th of his ministry.

The congregation then called Mr W. Nesbit, who was appointed by the Synod to Cowgate, Edinburgh.

2d Minister.-PETER DAVIDSON, D.D., from Bell Street, Dundee. Ordained 9th March 1831. Translated to Stockbridge, Edinburgh, 7th March 1836.

3d Minister.-ALEXANDER SORLEY, from Falkirk (East). Called to Cumbernauld, Kilbride, and Arbroath. Ordained 1837. Author of “Prayer: a Sermon to Children;" and “Sermons on Temperance.”

PARK STREET, OR ST PAUL'S. This congregation originated with a number of Wesleyan Methodists, who separated from a society in that connection in Arbroath, because the Conference would not receive the Rev. John Grahame (afterwards of the Relief congregation, Regent Place, and the Secession church, Duke Street, Glasgow), then a local preacher among them, as a regular minister. The place of worship now occupied by the congregation was built for him in 1826, and was in connection with a small body of professing Christians, styling themselves “ The Original Relief Association." Mr Grahame left Arbroath for Newcastle shortly after the erection of the church, in order to raise funds for its completion, and put Mr Pullar in his place till his return. While at Newcastle, he received and accepted a call to a church there. Mr Pullar remained till he had reduced the membership to 52, and also left for Newcastle in 1830. The congregation thus reduced, applied, in April of that year, to be received into connection with the Relief Synod, which was granted. A gallery was introduced into the church in 1841, which increased the sittings from 600 to 1000.

Before obtaining a fixed pastor in connection with the Relief Synod, the congregation called Mr Boag, afterwards of Brandon Street, Hamilton, who declined the call.

1st Minister.WILLIAM ALLAN, from Tollcross, Glasgow. Ordained 20th December 1831. Died 22d October 1871, in the 71st year of his age, and 40th of his ministry. Author of a Sermon preached on occasion of the death of the Rev. James Goodwin, Brechin.

CARNOUSTIE. Carnoustie is a village in the parish of Barry, Forfarshire, 10 miles east of Dundee, and 7 west by south of Arbroath.

The congregation in this place was originally formed by members belonging to the General Associate congregations in Dundee, Dumbarrow, and Arbroath, who, finding it inconvenient to continue their attendance at these places, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Forfar, 1789. Their first place of worship was at Barrymuir, a lonely spot, around which the population was very sparse, but which was considered central for the congregation. In 1810, they removed to a place of worship they had erected for themselves in Carnoustie, a growing village in which a great proportion of the members had become located. Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr S. Gilfillan, who was appointed by the Synod to Comrie.

Ist Minister.-SIMON SOMERVILLE, from Lauder (First). Ordained 7th November 1791. Resigned 9th October 1804. Admitted to Moss Street, Elgin, 1805.

The congregation then called Mr Buchanan, who was appointed by the Synod to Dalkeith.

2d Minister.— JOHN MURRAY, previously of Johnshaven. Admitted to Carnoustie 31st December 1806. Died 1st July 1817 in the 53d year of his age, and 27th of his ministry.

The congregation then called Mr David Young, who was appointed by the Synod to Perth, and Mr William Parlane, who was appointed to Tranent.

3d Minister.- JAMES CHAPMAN, from Craigend. Ordained 14th August 1822. Resigned, on account of ill health, 5th June 1832. Removed to Perth, and died there 1833.

4th Minister.-LAURENCE PITCAITHLEY, from Craigend. Ordained 18th February 1834. Resigned 1845. Died at Simla, East Indies, 19th December 1849, whither he had gone as a teacher of mathematics.

The congregation then called Mr James Cursetter, who declined the call.

5th Minister.-GEORGE JERMENT MACKENZIE, from Potterrow, Edinburgh. Ordained 24th November 1846. Died 18th November 1847, in the 27th year of his age and ist of his ministry. A posthumous volume of his sermons has been published, accompanied with a Memoir by Mr William Barlas, and Sermon by Dr Ritchie. The volume is entitled, “Remains of a Year's Ministry."

6th Minister.-JOHN P. MILLER, M.A., from Huntly, of which his father was minister. Ordained 9th January 1849. Author of Memorial of his father.

LETHAM. Letham is a village in the parish of Dunnichen, Forfarshire, 5 miles east of Forfar.

The Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Perth fixed upon Letham as a preaching station, 1792, and continued supply of sermon till 1802, when it was discontinued for want of encouragement. A place of worship which had been built in the interim, containing 200 sittings, passed shortly afterwards into the hands of the Independents. Letham was again fixed upon as a preaching station by the United Associate Presbytery of Arbroath, 1820, and this time with greater success. Church built, 1838 ; sittings, 300. The United Presbyterian congregation of Letham is to be considered the representative of the former congregation of Dumbarrow.

Ist Minister.- JAMES GALLOWAY, from Lauriston, Glasgow. Ordained 16th July 1839. Resigned 18th February 1840.

The congregation then called Mr Christie, who preferred Crossford.

2d Minister.-ROBERT FORBES, from East Kinross. Ordained 25th October 1842. Died 19th December 1847, in the 33d year of his age and 6th of his ministry.

The congregation called Mr David Young, who declined the call, and afterwards became minister of Chatton, in Northumberland.

3d Minister.-ANDREW R. JOHNSTON, previously of Duntocher. Admitted to Letham 20th June 1850. Demitted his charge 11th March 1856. Retired to Glasgow, and is a preacher on the list of Occasional Supply.

4th Minister.--ALEXANDER CLARK, from Kirkcaldy. Ordained 27th April 1858. PRESBYTERY OF BANFFSHIRE.

The Presbytery of Banffshire was formed in 1852 by separating the congregations of Cabrach and Keith from the Presbytery of Elgin, and the other congregations constituting it from the Presbytery of Buchan.

KEITH.

Keith is a town in Banffshire, 17 miles south-south-east of Elgin, 11 north of Huntly, and 20 south-west of Banff.

KEITH (FIRST). This congregation originated in the itineracies of the Rev. Mr Brown of Craigdam, about the year 1765. Its history is identified with that of Cabrach and Huntly till 1775, and with that of Grange till 1785. Church built, 1780; sittings, 450.

ist Minister.GEORGE COWIE. Ordained as minister of the united congregations of Cabrach, Keith, Grange, and Huntly, 1771. After 1775 Mr Cowie confined his ministerial labours to Huntly alone, leaving the other portions of the former congregation to provide themselves with a minister, or ministers, as they saw meet.

2d Minister.ANDREW YOUNG. Ordained as minister of the united congregations of Keith and Grange, 1777. After 1785 Mr Young confined his ministerial labours to Grange alone, leaving the Keith portion to provide itself with another minister.

3d Minister.JAMES BUNYAN, from Howgate. Ordained 26th September 1787. Loosed from his charge, 13th February 1828. Died, May 1828.

4th Minister.- JOHN MORRISON, from Campbell Street (First), Glasgow. Ordained 12th May 1829. Resigned 9th April 1839. Emigrated to America, and became minister of a congregation in Madrid, St Lawrence county, state of New York.

The congregation then called Mr Simpson, who preferred Forres; and Mr Callander, who preferred Craigdam.

5th Minister.—ROBERT GRAHAME, LL.D., from Kinross (West). Ordained 16th May 1843. Resigned 6th April 1847. Joined the Established Church, and became minister of the parish of Abernyte 1848, and Errol 1858. Had the degree of LL.D. conferred on him by the University of St Andrews.

The congregation then called Mr Walker, who preferred Newcastle ; and Mr White, who preferred Wooler,

6th Minister.ALEXANDER MILLER, A.M., previously of South Ronaldshay. Admitted to Keith 27th January 1849. Demitted his charge 15th April 1856, on his acceptance of superintendentship of Edinburgh City Mission.

7th Minister. - JAMES FORRESTER, from Rathillet. Ordained 3d December 1857. Died 24th August 1866, in the 32d year of his age, and 9th of his ministry.

The congregation called Mr James Urquhart Blackwood, from Glasgow (Renfield Street), who was also called to Portadown, in November 1867. Mr Blackwood accepted the call from Keith, and delivered his trial sermons at Portsoy, 20th February 1868; immediately after which he was seized with severe illness, and died 31st May 1868, before receiving ordination, in his 34th year.

« ZurückWeiter »