« ZurückWeiter »
remark was made by the latter of the visitors named, that it was surprising to him that no other denomination should attempt to supply the deficiency of church accommodation to a population of 5000, with only an Established and Secession place oi worship. The substance of this conversation was repeated by Mr Dobbie to the first meeting of the Dumfries Relief Presbytery, held thereafter, when it was agreed to place Annan under the Home Mission Committee as a preaching station. Sermon was accordingly supplied there in the course of the following month, in an open field adjoining the town, and continued till the summer of the succeeding year, when the supporters of the cause took possession of a place of worship which they had erected for themselves, containing 709 sittings.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr William Ritchie, who preferred Auchtergaven.
ist Minister.-ARCHIBALD TUDHOPE, from Thread Street, Paisley. Ordained 14th October 1834. Resigned 1838. Emigrated to America, and became minister of a congregation in Philadelphia.
2d Minister.-WILLIAM WYPER, previously of Newcastle. Translated to Annan 30th October 1839. Admonished by the Synod for fostering division in the church at Dunse. Accepted the admonition, and some months afterwards endeavoured to carry his congregation over to the Establishment, and was cut off from the denomination. Joined the Established Church 1840, and became minister of the Quoad Sacra Church, Norriston, Monteith, Perthshire. Found dead by the wayside in June 1870.
3d Minister.-JOHN DONALD, from Hutchesontown, Glasgow. Ordained 1842. Died 1844, in the 26th year of his age, and second of his ministry.
The congregation next called Mr Allan M‘Lean, who declined the call, and afterwards joined the Established Church ; and Mr John Mitchell, who also declined the call, and was afterwards of Leven.
CONGREGATION AS UNITED. The Secession and Relief congregations in Annan being both vacant at the union of their respective Synods in 1847, the Presbytery to which they now belonged appointed a committee to promote their amalgamation, in which they succeeded, and on the 21st of March 1848, they were declared one, with the general consent of both parties composing them. The place of worship previously belonging to the Secession branch of the congregation was preferred as the common place of meeting, and that formerly belonging to the Relief was sold.
Ist Minister of the United Congregation.—ROBERT GARDNER, from Johnston, (East). Called to Comrie, Blackett Street (Newcastle), and Annan. Ordained 2d October 1849. Translated to Wolverhampton 7th August 1871.
2d Minister.- JAMES RONALD, previously of Douglas. Admitted 23d January 1872.
CHAPELKNOWE. The congregation thus designated derives its name from the circumstance of its place of worship being erected on a knoll apart from any town or village, and having nothing near it to afford a more distinctive appellation. The church is in the parish of Half Morton, Eskdale, Dumfriesshire, 13 miles north of Carlisle, and 9 east of Annan.
The parish of Half Morton was formerly an appendage to that of Langholm. When so annexed, the General Assembly enacted that the minister should hold both benefices on condition of his preaching every fourth Sabbath in Half Morton. The condition in course of time was forgotten, though the benefices continued conjoined. For twelve years previous to 1833 there was no public worship maintained in this place by the Established Church. The Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Selkirk, on petition by some of the inhabitants, afforded supply of sermon in 1810. Church built, 1822 ; sittings, 244.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Alexander Robertson, who declined the call, and Mr Samuel Spence, who preferred Liverpool.
Ist Minister.-GEORGE CLARK, from Castle Street, Jedburgh. Ordained 18th December 1832. Died 23d February 1852, in the 55th year of his age, and 20th of his ministry.
The congregation then called Mr Andrew Graham, afterwards of Crossgates, and Mr Milne, afterwards of Greenlaw, both of whom declined the calls.
2d Minister.— JAMES C. MEIKLEJOHN, from Glasgow (London Road). Ordained 25th April 1854.
RIGG OF GRETNA. Rigg is a village in the parish of Gretna, on the southern verge of Dumfriesshire, ut miles north-west of Carlisle, and 6 east of Annan.
Sermon was occasionally afforded to this place by the late Mr Henderson, of Hawick, and other ministers of the Secession Church, about the beginning of the present century, but was afterwards discontinued. Some farmers and other persons, moving in a respectable sphere of life, had been some time resident in England, where they had become convinced of the scriptural nature of self-supported churches, and would not therefore submit to the ministrations of an incumbent imposed upon them by the patron of the parish. They thence took steps to procure a minister of their own choice, by applying, in 1830, to the United Associate Presbytery of Annan and Carlisle for supply of sermon, which was granted. Church built, 1832 ; sittings, 357.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr W. Miller, who preferred Whitburn.
ist Minister.-MATTHEW M'GILL, from Mauchline. Called to Ecclefechan and Rigg. Ordained 25th May 1832. Deposed from' office 24th May 1864.
The congregation called Mr Thomas Weatherstone, in 1869, who died before receiving ordination; and Mr David Drysdale, Dunfermline, who withdrew his acceptance of the call.
2d Minister.—WILLIAM Williamson, from Glasgow. Called to Loan Ends, Ireland, but withdrew his acceptance of the call; and to Gateshead, which he declined. Ordained 11th April 1871.
PRESBYTERY OF ARBROATH.
The General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod formed a Presbytery of Forfar in 1788, by separating the congregations in the district from the Presbytery of Perth, to which they had previously belonged. At the union of the two great branches of the Secession in 1820, the congregations in the district previously belonging to the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Aberdeen were separated from it and added to Forfar. The congregations of the United Associate Presbytery of Forfar had so increased in 1840, that it was deemed expedient that year to divide it into two-the one to be called “ The Presbytery of Dundee,” the other, “ The Presbytery of Arbroath."
DUMBARROW (Now EXTINCT). Dumbarrow is a hamlet in the parish of Dunnichen, Forfarshire, 4 miles east of Forfar, and 12 north-east of Dundee.
The congregation of Dumbarrow originated in the Secession of the Rev. Andrew Arrot, with a number of his people, from the Established Church, 13th October 1742. They continued to worship in the parish church till 1744, when they were compelled to remove from it by an official order from the Sheriff of the County. They then took possession of a place of worship which the minister built for them on his own grounds in Dumbarrow, and were joined by several persons in the parish of Monikie, who had taken offence at Mr Goodsir, the minister, for not seceding from the Established Church with “ The Four Brethren,” after the support he had given to their measures.
Ist Minister. -ANDREW ARROT. Ordained as minister of the parish of Dunnichen. Acceded to the Associate Presbytery 1742. Adhered, with the majority of his congregation, to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod at the Breach, 1747. Died 1760.
The congregation then called Mr Bennet, who was appointed by the Synod to Ceres.
2d Minister.-MICHAEL ARTHUR. Called to Kendal and Dumbarrow. Ordained October 1764. Resigned 1768. Admitted to Peebles 1771.
3d Minister.—JOHN YOUNG. Ordained 27th April 1774. Deposed 30th April 1800. Previous to Mr Young's deposition, the congregation had been greatly reduced by members at a distance having drawn off to form congregations in their more immediate neighbourhoods. The congregations of Forfar, Carnoustie, and Princes Street, Arbroath, originated in this way, the persons by whom they were formed belonging almost wholly to the congregation of Dumbarrow. Mr Young had estranged a goodly number of his people from himself and the cause during the latter part of his ministry among them; and after his deposition, the congregation became extinct, the only one of the original, or, indeed, of any of the early Secession congregations that has done so. It is, however, to be considered as still represented by the United Presbyterian congregation of Letham, which has since arisen in the parish, and with which, at its formation, the remaining members of Dumbarrow congregation became connected. After his deposition, Mr Young continued to reside in the manse, and preached to the people till his death in 1810.
MONTROSE. Montrose is a royal burgh and seaport town in Forfarshire, 8 miles east of Brechin, 18 north-east of Forfar, and 12 north of Arbroath.
MILL STREET. The parish of Montrose is joined by that of Dun on the west. Mr Ker, minister of this parish at the rise of the Secession, took an active part with “The Four Brethren" in testifying against the defections of the Church of Scotland, but did not choose to secede with them. On this account several of his parishioners withdrew from his ministry, and along with several persons in Montrose who sympathised with them, acceded to the Associate Presbytery in 1735. The Rev. John Bisset, one of the ministers of St Nicholas Church, Aberdeen (see Aberdeen), having opened a correspondence with the Associate Presbytery, proposing a conference at Montrose with any one or more of their number, with a view of joining them, the Rev. Messrs Wilson, Moncrieff, and Fisher, were appointed to meet him, and also the Seceders in the district, on the last Wednesday of August 1740. On arriving at Montrose, the commissioners found a letter from Mr Bisset awaiting them, apologising for the trouble he had given them, but declining the interview. They proceeded, therefore, to fulfil the other part of their mission, and met accordingly with the adherents to the Presbytery, preached to them, and organised them as a congregation, of which the Seceders in Dundee, Coupar-Angus, and Fettercairn, also formed a part. Sermon was afforded generally at Dundee and Montrose alternately, but occasionally at the other places named. In 1745, the congregation thus formed, and constituted as described, called Mr Johnston, afterwards of Dundee, and Mr Swanston, afterwards of Kinross, to be conjoined ministers of the Association, but the Presbytery refused to sustain the calls, divided the Association into the congregations of Dundee and Montrose, and required each to choose a minister for itself. While preparing to do so, the controversy respecting the Burgess Oath arose, dividing them in sentiment, in common with other congregations in the denomination ; and from the effects of this division they were long in recovering. The representatives of the persons forming the congregation of Mill Street, adhered to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod, while the representatives of the persons forming the congregation of John Street, Montrose, adhered to the Associate (Burgher) Synod. First church built, 1750—the open space around it being used as a burying-ground; a gallery was added, 1788; total sittings, 550 ; cost, £1400. Second church built, 1851 ; sittings, 650.
ist Minister.—Colin MacKay, from Elgin (First). Ordained 28th October 1751. Resigned 14th May 1786, on an annuity of £25. Removed to Dundee, where he lived privately till his death.
2d Minister.-FREDERICK M'FARLANE, from Logiealmond. Licensed while a student of the fourth year, with the view of proceeding to America as a missionary; but having obtained calls from Aberdeen, Craigend, and Montrose, he was allowed to remain in this country. Ordained 25th September 1788. In 1791, he was called three times by the congregation of Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, but continued by the Synod in Montrose, notwithstanding his openly expressed wish to remove, because of the divided state of the congregation. His friends in Nicolson Street were allowed to withdraw and form the congregation of Potterrow, Edinburgh. By them, in this new capacity, he was again called, but the Synod still refused to translate him. He then resigned his charge. Emigrated to America, and died there.
The congregation called Mr Williamson, who was appointed by the Synod to Whitehaven.
3d Minister.–ARCHIBALD Willison, from Dennyloanhead. Ordained 14th March 1798. Resigned 25th June 1804. Joined the Constitutional Presbytery, the name by which Dr M‘Crie and others separating with him from the General Associate Synod at first designated themselves, and became minister in Birsay, Orkney, in that connection.
4th Minister.—ANDREW Wilson, from Cairneyhill. Ordained 16th April 1806. Resigned ad March 1847; intimating, at the same time, his having withdrawn from the membership of the Secession Church. Lived privately in Montrose till his death,
In 1844, the congregation called Mr R. D. Duncan to be colleague to Mr Wilson, but he preferred Wishart Church, Dundee.
5th Minister. -ALEXANDER ANDERSON, A.M., from Perth (North). Ordained 12th August 1845.
Author of “ Total Abstinence in Harmony with the Gospel,” and “The Voluntary Principle Vindicated : A Criticism on the Articles of Agreement on Union.
JOHN STREET. The history of John Street is identified with that of Mill Street, noticed above, till the Breach in 1747, when the parties who afterwards formed it adhered to the Associate (Burgher), while the other Seceders in the district adhered to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod. They were then, and for a long time afterwards, few in number; and therefore contented themselves with meeting as a society for prayer and mutual exhortation. This society joined with another in Brechin, under the designation of “ The Correspondence of Brechin and Montrose.” They met on stated occasions at these places alternately, and had sermon afforded them by ministers of their denomination as opportunity offered. They continued to act thus till 1764, when the members were induced to apply to the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Perth and Dunfermline for regular supply of sermon, which was granted. It was, however, withdrawn after a few years' trial, for want of encouragement; but was again renewed, upon petition, and with greater success, in 1780. First church built 1784; second built, at a cost of £1100, 1824; sittings, 750.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called the Rev. John Kyle, who preferred remaining at Kinross.
ist Minister.— JOHN KING, from Mitchell Street, Beith. Withdrew from the General Associate (Antiburgher), and joined the Associate (Burgher) Synod while a Student of Divinity. Ordained 26th May 1790. Died 17th May 1827, in the 66th year of his age and 37th of his ministry.
2d Minister.-JAMES LILLIE, M.D., D.D., from Kelso (West). Ordained with March 1829. Resigned 27th February 1833. Emigrated to America, and became minister of a congregation in New Jersey, United States. Afterwards Professor of Theology in Maclay College, Toronto.
3d Minister.-HENRY HYSLOP, from Annan. Ordained 22d January 1834.