« ZurückWeiter »
3d Minister.—JAMES ANDERSON, from Leslie (East). Called to Girvan and Dunblane. Ordained 15th April 1818. Resigned 1854. Died in Leslie 19th March 1858, in the 68th year of his age, and 40th of his ministry.
4th Minister.-WILLIAM BLAIR, M.A., from Lochgelly. Called to Whitby (Yorkshire) and Dunblane. Ordained 16th April 1856.
Author of “ The Chronicles of Aberbrothock," 1853 ; “Rambling Recollections, or Fireside Memories of Scenes Worth Seeing," 1857 ; " Memorial of the Celebration of the Centenary of Dunblane Congregation,” 1858; “The Prince of Preachers, a Memorial of Rev. Dr Fletcher," 1860; “ Ordination Charges given at the Admission of Rev. J. Mitchell Harvey, M.A., Alloa," 1861; “ Notes of a Tour in France, Switzerland, and Italy in 1861 ;” and papers in “ Logan's Words of Comfort,” The Christian Journal, The Scottish Christian Journal, The United Pro. byterian Magasine, “Grant's Advocate of the Law of Kindness," “Reid's Authentic Records of Revival,” The British Messenger, “Mackenzie's Imperial Dictionary of Biography," and The British and Foreign Evangelical Review.
SECOND CHURCH (Now Extinct). At" The Breach,” 1747, the majority of the congregation of the Bridge of Teith adhered to the Associate (Burgher) Synod, and retained the property, while the minority adhered to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod, and returned to their original meeting place in Thornhill, which lies 3 miles to the south-west of the Bridge of Teith, and 8 from Dunblane. Thornhill was soon considered inconveniently distant by the adherents resident in and about Dunblane, who on that account insisted upon the seat of the congregation being removed to their locality. To this the others would not consent. The interference of the Presbytery was found necessary, who compromised the matter by deciding that sermon should be afforded at each place on alternate Sabbaths. The meetings were held at both places in the open air in summer, and in barns in winter, till 1761, when the section of the congregation assembling at Thornhill took possession of a place of worship they had built for themselves.
In 1758 the Seceders assembling at Greenloaning, who had been previously included in the congregation of Comrie, were disjoined from it, and united with those meeting at Thornhill and Dunblane, under the designation of "the congregation of Strathallan and Monteith,” but still meeting as before at Greenloaning, 5 miles north-east of Dunblane, where a place of worship had been erected in 1752. After this junction of three congregations under one minister, sermon was granted to Dunblane and Greenloaning regularly on alternate Sabbaths, but to Thornhill only occasionally. In 1769 the congregation applied to the Presbytery for a moderation, which was granted on the following conditions :—That the minister chosen shall preach five Sabbaths in the year at Thornhill, two of which shall be taken from Greenloaning, and three from Dunblane ; the Presbytery to grant such further supply to Thornhill as may be in their power, the collections made there upon such occasions to be appropriated, if need be, for defraying the expense thence incurred; and that fast-days be ordinarily observed at Dunblane, as the centre of the congregation. Church built 1763.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor the congregation called Mr Buchanan, who was appointed by the Synod to Nigg, and Mr Wilson, who was appointed to Lauder.
Ist Minister.—THOMAS RUSSELL, previously of Colmonell. Admitted as minister of the congregation of Strathallan and Monteith, 29th July 1769.
The conditions on which the Presbytery granted the moderation issuing in the call of Mr Russell were not found to work well, more particularly the financial part
of them. They were therefore brought under the Presbytery's review in 1773, when the following finding was adopted :—“ That the people of Greenloaning shall have the equal half of Mr Russell's labours, both as to Sabbath-days and fastdays; that the Presbytery make up to the people of Thornhill the two Sabbaths they formerly had of Greenloaning." These, however, were so dissatisfied with this arrangement that in 1778 they requested the Presbytery to allow them to dissolve, and join the congregations of Buchlyvie and Stirling. This request was complied with. Thus the Thornhill section of Strathallan and Monteith congregation became extinct. The place of worship was subsequently disposed of, and was afterwards occupied as a schoolroom.
Mr Russell died 13th February 1803, in the Soth year of his age, and 34th of his ministry. After his death the congregations of Strathallan and Dunblane were divided into the congregations of Greenloaning and Dunblane, and each left to make choice of a minister for itself.
2d Minister.—JOHN WALLACE, from Glasgow (Duke Street). Ordained 30th March 1804. Died 18th August 1828, in the 55th year of his age, and 25th of his ministry.
3d Minister.—ALEXANDER HENDERSON, from Alloa (First). Ordained 19th July 1829. Resigned with May 1849. Emigrated to America, and became minister of Fitzroy Harbour, Tarbolton, and Pakenham, Canada West. He also supplied Arnprior station. Died 28th October 1858, in his 59th year.
Author of “The Pilgrim, a Poem ;” a pamphlet on “The Liquidating and Supplementing Boards of the U.P. Church and the East Church of Dunblane ;” and “The Effects of Intemperance on Individuals, Families, and Nations, and the Propriety of Temperance Societies : a Sermon."
The congregation joined the Evangelical Union after Mr Henderson's resigna. tion, and soon after expired.
GREENLOANING. Greenloaning is a hamlet in the parish of Ardoch, 6 miles north of Dunblane, and 13 south of Comrie.
The Rev. Mr Halley of Muthil co-operated with the Four Brethren in several of the steps which led to the Secession, but did not himself secede. Several of his people pursued a different course, not, however, till the Associate Presbytery emitted their Testimony, and only then after its statements had been fully discussed in a public meeting, convened by them for the purpose. The persons who acted thus travelled for some time to Stirling to attend the ministry of the Rev. Ebenezer Erskine, but when the congregation of Kinkell and Comrie originated, they were included in it, and subsequently in that of the latter when disjoined from the former. Greenloaning had been one of the meeting-places of Kinkell and Comrie congregation from its formation, and a place of worship was erected there in 1752, containing 200 sittings, which was supplied occasionally with the other two while the congregation continued thus united. When Kinkell and Comrie were disjoined, Greenloaning continued part of the latter, the minister preaching at each place alternately. On the 21st September 1762 * the Seceders assembling at Greenloaning, then called Strathallan, were disjoined from those assembling at Comrie, and united with those assembling at Thornhill and Dunblane, under the designation of “the congregation of Strathallan and Monteith.” Church built 1752. In 1803 the Seceders assembling at Greenloaning were disjoined from those assembling at Dunblane, and each left to provide a fixed pastor for itself. The former did so in a short time, but it was not till twenty-two years after that the latter was supplied with one.
* It is somewhat difficult to fix the precise year, or reconcile the dates here given with those on page 32. Dr M‘Kelvie had 1760 as the date of disjunction of Greenloaning from Comrie, which we have altered to 1762, on the authority of the minutes of Presbytery. The contributor to Dr M‘Kerrow's statistics (Rev. R. Paterson, Aberchirder) says that “the Rev. John Ferguson, the first minister, was ordained on the 4th March 1760, and died in July the same year. It is mentioned * The Rev. M. Potter was in 1740 appointed Professor of Divinity in the University of Glasgow as successor to Professor Simpson (who was libelled for heresy in 1715, and again in 1726-29), which chair he held till 1744, when he was succeeded by Dr William Leechman.- EDS.
Ist Minister.-JOHN FERGUSON. Ordained December 1758. Died June 1760.
2d Minister.—THOMAS RUSSELL. Inducted 13th July 1769. Died 13th February 1803
The congregation called Mr H. Heugh, who declined the call.
3d Minister.-ROBERT MEIKLEJOHN, from Alloa (West). Ordained 5th September 1826. Resigned 25th December 1827. Removed to Alloa, and lived there privately till his death, 23d May 1851.
4th Minister.-ROBERT PATERSON, from Dunbar (Second). Ordained 13th January 1829. Resigned 24th April 1838. Admitted to Sunderland.
The congregation called Mr Gardiner, who preferred Kincardine.
5th Minister.—John M'INTYRE, M.A., from Mauchline. Ordained 25th May 1841. Author of " The Roman Remains at Ardoch ;" “ The Primitive Races of Scotland;” and “Our Father in Heaven :” a sermon.
BUCHLYVIE. Buchlyvie is a village in the parish of Kippen, Stirlingshire, 41 miles from the Holm of Balfron, 5 west of Kippen, 14.1 west from Stirling, and 23 north of Glasgow.
The parish of Kippen is bounded on the south by that of Balfron, in which great excitement was produced in 1735-as indeed through the whole district of country of which it forms a part—by the violent settlement of a minister after several years of determined opposition on the part of the people. (See “Holm of Balfron.") While matters were in this state, the Rev. Michael Potter of Kippen * wrote a pamphlet in which he alleged that the Erskines were hired by the Pope of Rome as his agents to rend the Church of Scotland, which greatly incensed a number of his parishioners, who deprecated the Secession, and were anxious to avoid widening the breach which had been made. Nevertheless, they bore with him till 1737, when, in common with most of his brethren in the Established Church, he showed his great subserviency to the powers that be by reading “ The Porteous Act" from the pulpit previous to the commencement of divine service on Sabbath, on which occasion several of them rose and left the church, never to return to it. They joined the Secession, and travelled to Stirling to attend the ministry of the Rev. Ebenezer Erskine till the congregation of the Holm of Balfron was organised in 1742, when they became part of it. At“ The Breach," they adhered, with few exceptions, to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod. Thinking themselves sufficiently numerous to form a self-sustaining congregation, and desirous of having a place of worship in their own locality, they applied to the Presbytery of Glasgow in a sermon which was published after his death that he lived among them only for the space of four months and some days." As confirmatory of this, the Presbytery minutes of July 1760 record his death.-EDS.
to be disjoined from “The Holm,” which was allowed, 1751. Church built in 1751; sittings, 554; altered and improved internally in 1871.
Ist Minister.—John CLELAND. Ordained as minister of Holm of Balfron, 8th June 1742. When the congregation of Buchlyvie originated, Mr Cleland had the option given him to remain at Balfron or remove to Buchlyvie. He chose the latter alternative, and was translated to Buchlyvie in May 1752. Died 14th January 1768, in the 73d year of his age, and 26th of his ministry.
2d Minister.—John FRANCE, from Kinkell. Ordained 2d March 1769. Died 3d August 1808, in the 76th year of his age, and 40th of his ministry.
In 1803 the congregation called Mr Moncrieff, who was appointed by the Synod to Hamilton.
3d Minister.—ANDREW M'GREGOR, from Methven. Ordained as colleague to Mr France, 16th August 1804. Deposed 14th February 1809. Joined the Congregationalists, and became minister of a congregation in that connection in England.
4th Minister.-WILLIAM SPIERS, from Dennyloanhead. Called to Muckart and Buchlyvie. Ordained 27th April 1813. Died 28th August 1825, in the 35th year of his age, and 13th of his ministry. Author of a sermon on “The Subserviency of All Things to the Ultimate Advantage of the Christian.”
5th Minister.-JOHN YOUNG, A.M., from Glasgow (Wellington Street). Ordained 13th March 1827. The ordination was appointed for 6th March, but a heavy fall of snow prevented Mr Young getting forward in time. Deposed 1836. Lived privately in Glasgow. Afterwards went to Canada, and became a minister at Galt, Canada West.
The congregation called Mr H. M. M'Gill, who preferred Glasgow (Duke Street).
6th Minister.-JOHN RUSSELL, from Glasgow (Gordon Street). Called to Freuchie, Hexham, Rousay, and Buchlyvie. Ordained 18th July 1837. Died 5th September 1858, in the 54th year of his age, and 22d of his ministry. Author of “ Centenary Sketch of Buchlyvie Congregation.”
7th Minister.—JAMES Berry, from Glasgow (Gillespie Church). Ordained 2d May 1860.
BLAIRLOGIE. Blairlogie is a hamlet in the parish of Logie, Stirlingshire, 3 miles north-east of Stirling, and 4 west of Alva.
The church and parish of Logie became vacant by the death of the Rev. Patrick Duchall in 1758. Both the Earl of Dunmore and John Erskine, Esq. of Carnock, advocate, claimed the right of patronage. A presentation from each in favour of Mr James Frame, preacher in Alloa, with Mr Frame's letters of acceptance, was given to the Presbytery. One elder, for himself and his brethren of the session, protested against both presentations. Mr Frame finding a formidable opposition threatened him in Logie, and obtaining a presentation to another parish, sent a communication to the Presbytery, renouncing the presentations of both claimants to the patronage. In February 1759 a petition was presented, signed by several heritors and all the elders, craving a moderation of a call to Mr William Cruden, minister of Logiepert (afterwards Relief minister of Albion Street, Glasgow), on the ground that the right of presentation had lapsed to the Presbytery by the jus devolutum, and that, as a matter of course, they would allow the people to make choice of a minister for themselves. The Presbytery, being given to understand that Lord Dunmore would persist in exercising what he considered his right, delayed
giving deliverance on the petition till next meeting. At that meeting two presentations were given in-one by Captain Robert Haldane of Plean, to whom Mr Erskine had disponed his right, in favour of Mr Cruden, the object of the people's choice, along with his acceptance of it; and the other by the Earl of Dunmore, in favour of Mr James Wright, probationer. The Presbytery referred the case to the Synod of Perth and Stirling, who decided that the right of presentation had fallen to the Presbytery by the jus devolutum, which the agent for Lord Dunmore would not allow, and appealed to the General Assembly. That court, 1760, reversed the decision of the Synod, and ordered Mr Wright's settlement as minister of Logie to be effected without delay. The reclaimants allowed the settlement to be proceeded with without any further remonstrance or indication of disapprobation, except by abstaining from giving it any countenance. Soon after it was effected, they began to look about for a minister under whom they might place themselves, and having made choice of one, requested the Presbytery of Relief, then recently formed, to preside at his induction among them, to which they readily agreed, and in this way the congregation came to be connected with that body of professing Christians. The first church, built in 1762, was accidentally burnt to the ground in 1845, and another built upon the same site the following year, containing 200 sittings.
1st Minister.—John WARDEN, previously minister of a Presbyterian congregation in Cuderston, England. Admitted 16th June 1762. Died 29th December 1768.
The congregation made choice of the Rev. Alexander Pirie, previously minister of the Associate (Burgher) congregation of Abernethy; but the Presbytery refused to receive him into connection, or allow his induction to Blairlogie. He assumed the ministry of the congregation, notwithstanding, and presided over it from August 1770 till June 1778, when, having failed on a third application to be received into connection with the Relief Church, he withdrew, and removed to Newburgh, in Fife, where he died. (See “Abernethy, Second.")
2d Minister.—WILLIAM BILLERWELL. Ordained 27th December 1780. Translated to Dysart, January 1794.
3d Minister.—John WATT, from St Ninians. Ordained 25th December 1794 Called in 1797 to Campsie, in 1798 to Glasgow (Dovehill), and in 1800 to Glasgow (Hutchesontown), but remained in Blairlogie till 30th March 1809, when he was translated to Old Kilpatrick.
4th Minister.—William Anderson, from Glasgow (Dovehill, now Cathedral Street). Ordained 24th April 1810. Suspended 8th January 1850. Lived privately in Auchterarder till his death, 9th May 1855.
5th Minister.—WILLIAM MʻLAREN, from Dennyloanhead. Ordained 12th August 1851.
ALLOA. Alloa is a town and seaport on the north bank of the river Forth, Clackmannanshire, 5 miles west of Kincardine, and 7 east of Stirling.
WEST, OR BEDFORD PLACE.* In consequence of some violent settlements that had taken place, and at the re quest of a number of persons resident in Alloa, the Rev. John Smith of Dunfermline
* For Alloa First (Townhead), see “ Presbytery of Dunfermline.”