« ZurückWeiter »
The congregation then called Mr Nelson, who preferred Pitcairn.
4th Minister.—ALEXANDER MILLER, from Glasgow (St Vincent Street). Ordained 26th October 1852.
BLAIRGOWRIE. Rattray, the name by which this congregation was long known, is a village in the parish of Blairgowrie, Perthshire, if of a mile east of Blairgowrie, 5 south-west of Alyth, 41 north-west of Coupar-Angus, 8 east of Kinclaven, 16 north-east of Perth, and 20 north-west of Dundee.
The congregation of Rattray originated in the unpopular settlement of Mr Smith as minister of the parish in 1757. The party opposed to his settlement, by petition signed by 2 elders and 104 men, with 106 women, on 20th September 1757 obtained supply of sermon from the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Perth. First church built 1758, at Old Rattray ; second built, 1792 ; the third, 1835, near the town of Blairgowrie, for the convenience of the majority of the congregation which is resident there. The name of Blairgowrie was given to the congregation in 1871; sittings, 600.
ist Minister.—JAMES HENDERSON. Ordained 22d March 1762. Died 1789, in the 28th year of his ministry.
The congregation called Mr Syme, who was appointed by the Synod to Newcastle.
2d Minister.—THOMAS Wood, from Midcalder. Ordained 16th April 1793. Resigned 18th September 1810. Itinerated as a probationer. Called to Boghole, now Moyness, but declined the call. Died at Bathgate 1833, in the 62d year of his age.
3d Minister.—JAMES AIRD, from Newmilns. Ordained 31st March 1812. Died 16th August 1834, in the 62d year of his age, and 23d of his ministry.
4th Minister.-David Hogg, from Haddington (West), of which his father was minister. Ordained 12th August 1835. Resigned 31st January 1837.
5th Minister.—John PATERSON, from Cambusnethan. Ordained 22d May 1839. Resigned 20th July 1844. Now living privately in Dollar.
The congregation called the Rev. Mr Borwick of Bell Street, Dundee, and Mr Thomas Montgomery, afterwards of the East Congregation, Ayton, both of whom declined the calls.
6th Minister.--ROBERT RUSSELL, from Carnwath. Called to Kennoway and Rattray. Ordained 22d June 1847.
FERRYPORT-ON-CRAIG, OR TAYPORT. Ferryport-on-Craig is a village in the parish of the same name, on the south side of the Tay, Fifeshire, 11 miles north-east of Cupar, 11 north-west of St Andrews, and 54 south-east of Dundee.
This congregation originated in the controversy respecting the magistrates' power in matters of religion, popularly known as “The Old Light Controversy," and partly in the unacceptability of the incumbent of the parish. When this controversy arose, part of the congregation assembling at Balmullo, a village 5 miles south from Ferryport-on-Craig, adhered to “The Constitutional Presbytery," better known by its subsequent name of The Synod of Original Seceders, and part to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod. The latter were chiefly resident in and about Ferryport-on-Craig, where a number of people were dissatisfied with the doctrines taught by the parochial incumbent, and the moral deadness which pervaded the parish. These joined together in a petition to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Kirkcaldy for supply of sermon, which was granted in 1806. First church built, 1807 ; second church built, 1844; sittings, 473.
Ist Minister.—ADAM BLAIR, from Haddington (West). Ordained 15th August 1809. Died 28th November 1840, in the 62d year of his age, and 32d of his ministry. Author of a sermon on “Reunion;" another “On the Covenant of Grace as made with Believers ;” and “The History of the Waldenses," 2 vols.
2d Minister.-WALTER MUCKERSIE, from Bethelfield, Kirkcaldy. Called to Gatehouse, Galston, and twice to Ferryport-on-Craig. Ordained 8th June 1842. Translated to Glasgow, Frederick Street, 31st May 1864.
3d Minister.-ALEXANDER JACK, from Dennyloanhead. Ordained 9th November 1864.
LOCHEE. Lochee is a village partly in the parishes of Dundee, Liff and Benvie, but may be considered as included in Dundee, being within the parliamentary boundary line of that burgh, about one mile from the town.
The Rev. Mr Fraser of Dundee, preached occasionally in the village of Lochee on Sabbath evenings. The people who attended his ministrations there applied for and obtained regular supply of sermon from the United Associate Presbytery of Forfar, 1824. The congregation was organised 15th June 1826. They built a place of worship for themselves in 1826, at the cost of £800, containing 567 sittings. The church was remodelled in 1856, at an expense of £1000; sittings, 700. A new church, costing £ 5000, was opened by Dr Eadie in 1871.
Ist Minister.—DAVID MARSHALL, from Auchtergaven (North). Called to Fenwick, Edenshead, and Lochee. Ordained 26th December 1827.
2d Minister.-ARCHIBALD BROWNING CONNEL, A.M., from Bo'ness, of which his father was minister. Ordained as colleague to Mr Marshall, roth July 1867.
NEWTYLE. Newtyle is a village in the parish of the same name, Forfarshire, 10 miles northwest of Dundee. The formation of the railway from Dundee to Newtyle rapidly increased the village of Newtyle, and rendered it eligible for a Secession place of worship. The United Associate Presbytery of Forfar, therefore, fixed upon it as a preaching station in their home missionary operations, and supplied it with sermon by preachers in their connection, 1835. A congregation was speedily organised, and a church containing 400 sittings opened, 16th May 1836. Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Scott, who preferred Dumfries.
ist Minister.- John Muir, from Wallacetown, Ayr. Ordained 6th February 1838. Demitted his charge 17th October 1871, on account of ill health. The congregation was supplied with sermon as a mission station after 23d January 1872.
BROUGHTYFERRY. Broughtyferry is a village on the Tay, in the parish of Monifieth, Forfarshire, 4 miles east of Dundee.
The United Associate Presbytery of Forfar began preaching at Broughtyferry, as one of their home mission stations, in 1837, and a congregation was organised 26th June 1838. They rented a place of worship till 1847, when they built one for themselves, containing 382 sittings.
1st Minister.-JOHN ROBB, from Wellington Street, Glasgow. Ordained 21st May 1839. Resigned 21st September 1841. Admitted to Ramsey, Isle of Man, 26th November 1845.
The congregation called Mr Whyte, who preferred Moyness, and Mr Kininmont, afterwards of Crossford, who declined the calls.
2d Minister.—LAURENCE GOWANs, from Broughton Place, Edinburgh. Ordained 7th February 1843. Died 6th February 1844, in the 36th year of his age, and ist year of his ministry.
The congregation called Mr J. B. Johnstone, afterwards of Clavering Place, Newcastle, and Mr J. B. Ritchie, afterwards of Charlotte Street, Aberdeen, who declined the calls.
3d Minister.-DUNCAN OGILVIE, A.M., D.D., from Keith. Called to Stamfordham and Broughtyferry. Ordained 18th June 1845. Demitted his charge on acceptance of Portsburgh Mission, Edinburgh, 8th November 1859.
4th Minister.—Hugh TAYLOR Howat, from Edinburgh (Nicolson Street). Called to Sutton and Broughtyferry. Ordained 8th November 1860. Translated to Everton, Liverpool, gth May 1864.
5th Minister.— JAMES GRAHAM, from Paisley (Abbey Close). Called also to South Shields (East), North Leith, and Boveedy. Ordained 6th October 1864.
PRESBYTERY OF DUNFERMLINE. IN 1744 “ The Associate Presbytery” constituted itself a Synod, made up of three Presbyteries, of which Dunfermline was one. It then comprehended all the congregations north of the Forth, which at that time numbered 17, nine of which had not been supplied with ministers. The territory then assigned to it now contains 13 Presbyteries and 180 congregations. Only two of the original congregations of the Presbytery are now connected with Dunfermline. The others are included in the Presbyteries which have since arisen out of it.
DUNFERMLINE. Dunfermline is a town in Fifeshire, 16 miles north-west of Edinburgh, and 13 west of Kirkcaldy.
QUEEN ANNE STREET. This congregation originated in the Secession of the Rev. Ralph Erskine, and the great majority of his parishioners from the Established Church. The circumstances which led to this are well-known and need not be repeated here. He abstained from identifying himself fully with “ The Four Brethren” in their movements, notwithstanding his own and only brother was among them, for four years after they had declared themselves in a state of Secession from the Judicatories of the Established Church. At length, in 1737, he formally united himself to them and became a member of “The Associate Presbytery,” previously formed. His biographer, Dr Fraser, says: “April 1739.—About this time” observes Mr Erskine in his diary, "a libel and summons were put into our hand from the Commission to appear before the next Assembly, and what happened in this parish was very remarkable. Some three weeks ago, upon the hearing of the libel, our session, all except four or five, met in order to contribute for a meeting-house, in case of the Assembly's sentence of deposition, and then they went through the parish for subscriptions, and the people generally and heartily subscribed, some less and some more according to their ability, and very quickly made a considerable sum, which at present is going on, this being the 17th of April. It is expected that at least four hundred pounds sterling, will be gathered in the parish even among the poorer sort for the most part, and many that have given declaring that in case of need, they will give as much again. This collection by subscription is so universal that it is surprising, and astonishing both to friends and foes.” To this Dr Fraser adds that, “in the spring of 1740, when matters were approaching'a crisis, the elders differed in opinion with regard to the propriety of referring a particular case of discipline to the Presbytery of Dunfermline, and each prepared to take his side. About the same time a tent was erected in a green (Clerk Wilson's yard, where Mr Gillespie's meeting-house now stands) in which Mr Erskine conducted divine service one part of the day, while in the other part, so long as permission was given him, he continued to preach in the parish church. It appears that eventually of about 26 elders and deacons, 7 stood neutral, 5 remained in connection with the National Church, and 14 seceded.” Mr Erskine continued to occupy the parish church a part of every Sabbath till 1742, when he entirely ceased to appear in it as a minister. The pulpit occupied by him, while one of the parochial ministers of Dunfermline, now forms one of the antiquarian curiosities in Sir Walter Scott's museum at Abbotsford. First church built, 1740; second built, 1800; cost £2306; sittings 1642. A statue was erected to Mr Erskine in front of the church in 1849, the funds for the purpose being raised by the active exertions of Mr Young, minister of the congregation.
Ist Minister.—RALPH ERSKINE, A.M. Ordained as one of the parish ministers of Dunfermline, 7th August 1711. Acceded to the Associate Presbytery, 18th February 1737. Adhered with the majority of his congregation to the Associate (Burgher) Synod at “ The Breach,” 1747. Died 6th November 1752, in the 68th year of his age, and 42d of his ministry.
Author of Sermons in two volumes, folio; “Gospel Sonnets ;” “A Paraphrase upon the Song of Solomon ;” “Faith no Fancy;" “ Fraud and Falsehood Discovered : Remarks on Mr Webster's Postscript to his Letter ;” “Fancy no Faith, or a Seasonable Admonition and Information to Seceders against the Sinful Constitution of some Brethren into a Pretended Judicatory;" "A Review of Mr Gib's Remarks against the late Synodical Fast, ad June 1748;"“The Narrative of the Separation ;” “ The Lawfulness of the Religious Clause of some Burgess Oaths Asserted;" “Observations upon the Conduct of the Separating Brethren, with Fancy still no Faith ;” “Third Proof of Fancy no Faith, with a Fourth Proof ;” and “Scripture Songs."
The congregation called ist, his son, Mr James Erskine, who was appointed by the Synod to Stirling ; 2d, the Rev. Mr Shirra, who preferred remaining in Kirkcaldy; 3d, Mr John Belfrage, who was appointed by the Synod to Falkirk.
2d Minister.—John SMITH, previously of Jedburgh. Admitted 16th July 1760. Died 7th December 1780, in the 58th year of his age, and 35th of his ministry.
3d Minister.- JAMES HUSBAND, D.D., from St Andrews. Ordained as colleague to Mr Smith, 7th February 1776. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by Marischal College, Aberdeen, 1817. Died 12th May 1821, in the 70th year of his age, and 46th of his ministry.
In 1783, the congregation called Mr James Peddie to be colleague to Mr Husband, but the Synod appointed him to Bristo Street, Edinburgh.
4th Minister.—JAMES M'FARLANE, from Bridge of Teith. Ordained as colleague to Mr Husband, 4th February 1785. Called in 1794 by the congregation of Nicolson Street, Greenock, but remained in Dunfermline. Died 10th April 1823, in the 64th year of his age, and 39th of his ministry.
The congregation, on 28th March 1822, called Mr James White, probationer, to be colleague to Mr M‘Farlane, but the Synod appointed him to Perth. He himself preferred Queen Anne Street, Dunfermline, from which he obtained a second call, and because he was not allowed to become one of the ministers of that congregation, he withdrew from the connection and joined the Synod of Original Seceders. (See list of students, Professor Paxton's class, 1815.)
The congregation called Mr Ritchie, then of Clerk's Lane, Kilmarnock, afterwards of Potterrow, Edinburgh, who declined the call ; and Mr William Nicol, who was appointed by the Synod to Jedburgh.
5th Minister.—ALEXANDER FISHER, from Bristo Street, Edinburgh. Called also to Nicolson Street, Edinburgh, and Kirkgate, Leith. Ordained 20th March 1827. Died 26th September 1829, in the 27th year of his age, and 3d of his ministry.
Author of "Theological Gems ;” and “Memoir of Alexander Clark.” A volume of his Sermons, with Memoir by Rev. John Brown, was published in 1830.
The congregation called the Rev. Archibald Browning, previously minister of the Secession Congregation of Tillicoultry, who declined the call.
6th Minister.—JAMES YOUNG, from Mauchline. Ordained ist June 1831. Died suddenly on 5th December 1869, in the 66th year of his age, and 39th of his ministry
Author of a sermon entitled “The Remembrance and imitation of Departed Ministers," preached on the Sabbath immediately preceding the inauguration of a statue to the Rev. Ralph Erskine, in Dunfermline ; and “ Our Refuge," a sermon in connection with the Crimean War, 1854.
7th Minister.—ROBERT FRENCH, M.A., from Glasgow (Greyfriars). Called to Leith (St Andrews Place) and Dunfermline. Ordained 5th October 1870. Translated to Derby Road, Liverpool, 4th June 1872.
GILLESPIE CHURCH. “Gillespie Church” is named after the principal founder of the Relief Church, the congregation worshipping in it representing the congregation raised by Mr Gillespie after his ejectment from the Established Church. That ejectment resulted from his refusing to take part in the forced settlement of a minister in Inverkeithing, 1752. (See article, Inverkeithing.) “In Carnock” (of which parish Mr Gillespie was minister), “Dunfermline, and in all the towns and villages on the banks of the Forth,” says a writer on the subject, "the news (of his deposition) spread with the quickness of a post. Public indignation was excited to the utmost. An immense concourse of people assembled on the Sabbath morning at Carnock. A person who was