« ZurückWeiter »
lished Church for permission to erect a chapel of ease in the town, which, notwithstanding the application was supported by Sir William Douglas of Galston Castle, an extensive proprietor in the place, was refused. The applicants, thwarted in this quarter, turned to another, and succeeded in obtaining supply of sermon from the Relief Presbytery of Dumfries in September 1800. A large congregation was speedly formed. A church containing 700 sittings was erected upon an advantageous site in the town, granted them by Sir William Douglas upon very reasonable terms, in 1801.
ist Minister.-WILLIAM BOAG, from Dovehill, Glasgow. Called to Waterbeck and Castle-Douglas. Ordained 8th March 1803. Resigned 18th December 1810. Admitted to Strathkinnes 1811.
2d Minister.—ROBERT CAMERON, from the congregation of Dovehill, Glasgow. Ordained 18th July 1811. Translated to East Kilbride, 17th June 1817.
Unfavourable circumstances had been affecting the congregation before Mr Boag's resignation, and these were greatly increased in number and force after Mr Cameron's removal. Sir William Douglas, who, though not a member, was a regular hearer in the church, and most friendly-disposed towards it, died; the pecuniary affairs became embarrassed, the supporters of the cause lost heart, the property was sold in 1820, and the congregation dispersed. The place of worship belongs Dos to a congregation in connection with the Reformed Presbytery.
SECOND CHURCH. After the first congregation of Castle-Douglas, whose history is given above, became disorganised, several of its members applied to the Secession Presbytery of Dumfries for supply of sermon, which was granted. They met for worship sometimes in the Mason Lodge and sometimes in the open fields. Encouraged by the attendance, they resolved to build a church, and with this view obtained a site on the estate of Suffolk, which lies on the boundary of Crossmichael parish, next to Castle-Douglas, but beyond the town, and proceeded with its erection ; but before it was furnished with seats, circumstances hostile to the cause arose, and not only hindered its further progress, but prevented the formation of the congregation. The house was sold and used for secular purposes, till another and more successful attempt to raise a congregation was made, when it was bought and occupied as a church.
Nothing daunted by previous failures, a few persons in Castle-Douglas pressed certain members of the Dumfries Relief Presbytery to get that place included in the Presbytery's Home Missionary operations, which was done in August 1833. A petition for regular supply of sermon followed in a short time, and in the end of 1835 a congregation was organised in the usual way. Two persons taking interest in the cause purchased the house referred to above, as built by the promoters of the Secession movement, in the name of the congregation, but the deeds were drawn for themselves and their heirs, which created considerable difficulties afterwards. This house was fitted up with 320 sittings, and otherwise rendered comfortable. A new church was opened in 1870 with sittings for 375, at a cost of £1300.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Nelson, afterwards of Carluke, who declined the call.
Ist Minister.—JAMES JENKINS, from St Ninians. Ordained, 1837. Died 14th March 1867, in the 67th year of his age, and 30th of his ministry. Author of “The Death, Burial, and Resurrection of Christ :” a Sermon.
2d Minister.—JAMES ROTHNIE, M.A., from Old Meldrum. Ordained 19th November 1867.
THORNHILL. Thornhill is a village in the parish of Morton, Upper Nithsdale, Dumfriesshire, 8 miles east-north-east of Moniaive, 12 south-east by south of Sanquhar, and 14 north-north-west of Dumfries.
The history of this congregation has been given along with that of Moniaive, with which it was connected till 1805, when it was disjoined from it, and organised as a separate congregation. First church built, 1784; second built, 1816; sittings, 480.
Ist Minister.- JAMES PATTISON. Ordained as minister of the united congregations of Moniaive and Thornhill, 1788. At the disjunction of the congregations in 1805, Mr Pattison was allowed to make his choice of either. He preferred Thornhill. Died 1816, in the 63d year of his age, and 39th of his ministry.
2d Minister.-WILLIAM ROGERSON, from Lockerbie. Ordained 28th August 1817. Died 4th September 1857, in the 63d year of his age, and 41st of his ministry. Mr Rogerson published a Lecture, entitled, “A Few Phases of Society," delivered to the Thornhill Institute on the 6th March 1857.
The congregation called Mr Thomas M'Ewan, who preferred Potterrow, Edinburgh ; Mr P. C. Duncanson, who preferred West Calder; Mr David Cameron, who accepted Mearns.
3d Minister.—ROBERT WISHart, from Millport. Ordained 11th October 1860.
DUNSCORE. Dunscore is a village in the parish of the same name, Nithsdale, Dumfriesshire, 9 miles north-west of Dumfries, 9 south of Thornhill, and 77 south-east of Moniaive.
The United Presbyterian Congregation in this place originated in dissatisfaction by a number of persons in the district with the ministrations of the parish incumbent. They applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Relief Presbytery of Dumfries, September 1814, were organised as a congregation the following year, and built their place of worship in 1816. A new church was built in 1864, with sittings for 320, at a cost of £850.
Ist Minister.-MATTHEW BEATTIE from King Street, Kilmarnock. Ordained ist April 1817. Died 230 June 1858, in the 720 year of his age, and 42d of his ministry.
2d Minister.-GEORGE BARCLAY, from St Andrews. Called to Mearns, Holm of Balfron, and Dunscore. Ordained 31st May 1859.
DALRY. Dalry is a village in the parish of the same name, Kirkcudbrightshire, 20 miles west of Castle-Douglas, and 24 north-west of Kirkcudbright.
Mr Ramsay, a probationer of the United Secession Church, being on his way to fulfil synodical appointments in Wigtownshire, and having no engagement for the Sabbath then approaching, called, at the suggestion of the Rev. Mr M'Geoch of Moniaive, upon one of his members resident in Dalry, and offered to preach in the village, or elsewhere in the neighbourhood, if an audience could be procured. The offer was readily accepted, and the village of New Galloway, 3 miles south-east a Dalry, was fixed upon as the most eligible place in the district for the purpose. Mr Ramsay preached there accordingly on one of the Sabbaths in September 1820, and the attendance was such as to induce the Presbytery to follow up this spontaneous act by sending regularly-appointed preachers occasionally to the place, who were equally well received. The meetings for worship were held in the open air in summer and in barns in the winter, till 1826, when the parties taking interest in the movement provided themselves with a comfortable church, containing 200 sittings, in Dalry, at a cost of £201.
Ist Minister.— JOHN REID, from Mauchline. Called to Cowgate, Edinburgh, and Lauriston, Glasgow, both of which calls he declined; and sometime after accepted one to Dalry, where he was ordained 8th October 1829. Suspended from the exercise of his ministry by the United Associate Synod in 1833 ; and on refusing to submit to this sentence, was declared no longer a minister or member of the United Secession Church. He afterwards joined the Original Associate (Burgher) Synod, and became minister of a congregation in that connection in Bathgate. Joined the Established Church, along with the majority of the Original Associate Synod, in 1839, and recently held a charge in Liverpool in that connection.
The congregation called Mr Henderson, who preferred Dalry in Ayrshire.
2d Minister.—ALEXANDER RITCHIE, from Perth (North). Ordained ist August 1834. Resigned, 1841. Proceeded to Canada as one of the Synod's missionaries to that country, and became minister of a congregation in Ayr, Presbytery of Flamboro, Canada West.
3d Minister.—ALEXANDER PATERSON, A.M. Called to Sunderland and Dalry. Ordained 30th May 1843.
DALBEATTIE. Dalbeattie lies in a beautiful vale half-a-mile in breadth, which is watered by the Urr on its way to the Solway Firth, 5 miles below the town. It contains a population of nearly 2500, most of whom are engaged in the granite quarrying and polishing, which is extensively carried on there. Small vessels can steer up to the town, between which and Liverpool there is a considerable carrying trade in guano and granite. The town is one of rapid growth, and not older than 80 or 90 years. It is in the parish of Urr, 14 miles south-west of Dumfries, and 5 south-east of CastleDouglas. It is a station on the railway from Dumfries to Port-Patrick. Several public works, such as four-mills, saw-mills, pirn-mills, paper-mills, and bone-mills, and the granite-polishing works, flourish in the place. There are churches connected with the Established, Free, United Presbyterian, Roman Catholic, and Evangelical Union Churches.
On the 27th March 1858, a meeting was held in the house of Mr John Ker to consider the propriety of making application to the United Presbytery of Dumfries for the opening of a preaching station. Accordingly, a petition was drawn up and signed by Messrs R. Thomson, Edingham ; James M‘Robert, Reedweel; James Wright, Munches; and Thomas Maxwell, W. Reid, W. Heughan, Thomas Rawline, John Ker, and James Grieve, of Dalbeattie. The petition was presented to the Presbytery of Dumfries on 3d May, and the prayer thereof was granted. On the 23d May
the Rev. M. N. Goold preached in the hall of the Commercial Hotel, and formally opened the station. A meeting was held on 28th May in the house of Mr W. Heughan, and a committee, consisting of Messrs Ker, Heughan, Renton, Thomson, Grieve, Maxwell, Rawline, Paterson, and M‘Robert, was appointed to manage the affairs of the station. Another meeting was held on 3d August, at which it was agreed to petition the Presbytery to be erected into a regular congregation. A deputation from the Presbytery visited Dalbeattie on the 21st September, when a number of members lately connected with the congregation of Urr, together with several lately connected with the Free Church, and other churches, were formed into a congregation. Office-bearers were elected on 18th November, a constitution drawn up, and a missionary committee appointed.
After hearing a succession of preachers, the new congregation gave a unanimous call, on 19th April 1859, to their present minister, promising a stipend of £120 from their own resources, with four Sabbaths a-year for holidays.
The number of members at the date of Mr Kinnear's ordination was 55. It has steadily increased ever since, and is now 155.
The new church was opened for public worship by Rev. Dr Macfarlane, of London, and Dr Eadie, of Glasgow, in October 1861, and is seated for 350, with provision for a gallery when required, so as to accommodate 600 persons. It has cost £1000, of which £250 were given by the Ferguson Trustees, £120 by the Debt Liquidating Board, and the rest subscribed by the people. Steps are now (1872) being taken for the erection of a manse, which is to cost £700.
ist Minister.—David KINNEAR, B.A., from Buckhaven. Ordained 30th August 1859.
PRESBYTERY OF DUNDEE. The Presbytery of Dundee was formed in 1840 by the division of the Presbytery of Forfar into the Presbyteries of Dundee and Arbroath. Four congregations previously belonging to the Presbytery of Cupar were transferred at the same time to the Presbytery of Dundee. The Presbytery of Forfar thus divided was formed by the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod in 1788, by a separation of the congregations composing it, from the Presbytery of Perth. At the union of the two great branches of the Secession in 1820, the Associate (Burgher) congregations in the district were added to it. It was further increased by new congregations, and these circumstances admitted of its division at the time and in the manner specified.
DUNDEE. Dundee is a large manufacturing town and seaport on the Tay, Forfarshire, 22 miles east of Perth, 42 north-east of Edinburgh, and 66 south-by-west of Aberdeen.
SCHOOL WYND. The Rev. John Willison of Dundee, well known as the author of “ The Afflicted Man's Companion,” and other popular theological works, co-operated with “The Four Brethren” in testifying against the abuses of the Established Church, of which they complained, and thereby led his congregation to expect that he would secede with them. But instead of this he took part against them after their Secession, by writing a book vindicating the conduct of the General Assembly towards them. When publishing a second edition of his “Sacramental Addresses,” he thus wrote: “At that time (1711) presentation hunters among Presbyterians would have appeared as monsters, and their society frightful; but now, alas ! they are become tame and familiar creatures to us. It is this woeful practice, together with the itch of pleasing great men, that hath of late been the great snare to draw in judicatories to go cross to our declared principles, by making intrusions and violent settlements in Christian congregations, to the ruin, alas ! of the glorious Gospel, and of precious souls therein, and upon that account alone, though we had no acts nor declared principles against intrusions, it is astonishing to think how any man that hath the glory of his Master and the saving of souls at heart, should ever concur in a violent settlement that is manifestly destructive of both." Yet only four years after writing thus, he published his “Fair and Impartial Testimony," wherein he condemns the Seceding brethren in the following terms for having made similar remarks : “We must regret their casting slanders on their worthy ancestors, and on their mother Church, in their act and testimony, and other papers emitted or adopted by them." After quoting some of these, he adds: “These are but a swatch of the many false aspersions contained in their writings, besides those which they daily cast upon their brethren in their sermons. Alas! that brethren who are concerned for the same Gospel interest should take such methods to slander their own mother's sons, to discredit their persons, and blast their ministry, especially when God is pleased to countenance several of them remarkably in their work. There are indeed many evils in the National Church ; but it is sinful to calumniate her and make her defections greater than they are." This glaring inconsistency on the part of Mr Willison highly offended several of his people, who on that account withdrew from his ministry and acceded to the Associate Presbytery. They formed themselves into praying societies, which met in the houses of Mr John Moore and Mr Thomas Robertson. They were afterwards joined with Seceders in Forfarshire and the Mearns, under the designation of “The Association of the North," and received supply of sermon at different places as the Presbytery were able to afford it. At the request of this Association, the Rev. Mr Moncrieff of Abernethy preached and held a fast by appointment of Presbytery at Dumbarrow in July 1740—the minister of that parish being favourable to the movement—the Seceders in Dundee, Coupar-Angus, Fettercairn, Montrose, and other places adjacent, attending upon the occasion. Dundee and Montrose came afterwards to be the chief preaching stations, and the persons regularly assembling at them were considered as forming one congregation. In 1745, they presented calls to Mr James Johnston, afterwards of Dundee, and Mr John Swanston, afterwards of Kinross, to become collegiate ministers, but the Presbytery set aside both calls, and divided the Association into separate congregations. The congregation of Dundee proceeded immediately to the erection of a place of worship, which was rebuilt in 1825, and contains 1010 sittings.
ist Minister.—JAMES JOHNSTON. Withdrew from the Established Church, while a probationer in that connection, and acceded to the Associate Presbytery. Called twice to Dundee, and ordained there 16th April 1746. Adhered with the majority of his congregation to the Associate (Burgher) Synod at “The Breach,"