Abbildungen der Seite

his Death ; “The Death of a Good Man the Source of great Lamentation : A Sermon preached at Selkirk after the Death of Dr Lawson ;” “ An Account of the Life and Writings of the Rev. Augustus Toplady," prefixed to a complete Edition of his Works; “A Comparative View of English and Scottish Dissenters ; ” “ Cure for Pauperism : Proposed in a Letter to the Rev. Thomas Chalmers, D.D.;" “ The Might and Mastery of the Established Church Laid Low: Being a Review and Refutation of the Principal Arguments of the Rev. Drs Inglis and Chalmers in Vindication of Ecclesiastical Establishments;" “ Appeal from Scotland ; or, The Cry of a whole Nation of Dissenters, urging their Claims to the Redress of their Grievances ;” “ The Church and the Voluntaries : Two Letters addressed to George Buchan, Esq., of Kelloe ;” “ Calumny Exposed, and the Conduct of the Dissenters Vindicated ;" “ Union of the Old Light Seceders with the Estab lished Church : A Review of the Proceedings of the Synod of Merse and Teviotdale ;” “Claims of Dissenters on the Government of the Country : A Letter addressed to Lord Melbourne, 1836;" “ The Claims of Churchmen on the Government of the Country : A Letter addressed to Lord Mel bourne, 1838;” “Outlines for the Pulpit ;” “Consolation for Christian Mourners ;" “ Bible Monopoly inconsistent with Bible Circulation : A Letter addressed to Lord Bexley ;" with various other publications on the subject of Bible monopoly.

In 1785, the government of the day renewed a patent (given successively before to several persons) to Mr John Hunter Blair, and James Bruce, Esq., granting them, as His Majesty's printers for Scotland, a monopoly of the printing and sale of all Bibles in that part of the British dominions for forty-one years, dating the patent from 1798, when the preceding one was to terminate. This patent, if not renewed, must have ceased in 1839. In anticipation of the renewal being granted, Mr (afterwards Dr) Thomson, overtured the United Associate Synod in 1837 in these terms: “ That a petition be presented to the House of Commons against the monopoly now held by the King's printers and the two Episcopalian Universities, by which they can, and do, prevent all others from printing and publishing the authorised version of the Word of God; and that while a committee of the House of Commons is sitting on the subject, a committee of Synod be appointed to watch the progress of the measure, with full power to take such steps as the future aspects or exigencies of the case may seem to render expedient.” The Synod adopted this overture, named a committee, and appointed Mr Thomson convener. Certain circumstances awakened suspicion that Government only intended to transfer the patent from the King's printers to the Scottish Universities. This proposal, which had been actually made, was successfully resisted by Mr Thomson, who undertook a journey to London for the special purpose. Lord John Russell subsequently announced to the House of Commons the purpose of the Government to form a Board, to consist of five persons, to whom would be granted the exclusive right of printing and publishing the Bible ; one of these to be the Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, two others, divines of the same Church, and two others to be laymen, but also connected with the Established Church. This proposal being made while the Synod was in session, a memorial to Parliament was immediately agreed upon, and the Rev. Mr Thomson and the Rev. James Harper were appointed a deputation to wait upon the members of the Cabinet, and represent to them how obnoxious the proposed scheme was to the Dissenters in Scotland. The deputation were successful in obtaining a modification of the constitution of the Boardthough not in preventing its appointment—which was the object of their delegation; and to their exertions, and more especially to those subsequently put forth by Dr Thomson in the cause, the public are indebted for the present low price of the Bible. These exertions were of a very extensive and peculiar kind, involving nothing less than the printing of the Bible under his own auspices, and at his own risk, to prevent a monopoly by any of the extensive booksellers, which, it was presumed, would have been certain if means had not been taken to prevent it. This undertaking proved disastrous to Dr Thomson and his family, involving them in

a loss of from £12,000 to £15,000. When this came to be known, some friends of the Bible in Bristol, among whom, the Rev. Mr Gregory of Clifton took the lead, originated the idea of a testimonial to Dr Thomson, which, to some extent, might indemnify the loss. This idea was taken up by the Doctor's friends in Coldstream, and active steps taken to realise it. But after many appeals from them to friends in Scotland, not more than from £300 to £400 were obtained ; and the aftair was about to prove a failure when it was taken up by the Rev. Dr Macfarlane, of Glasgow, and the late David M'Gill Crichton, Esq. of Rankeillor, who got up meetings in all the principal towns in Scotland and England, and relaxed no effort till between £3000 and £4000 were obtained. The money was invested in trustees for behoof of Dr Thomson while he lived, and to pass to his family at his death.

3d Minister.—PETER MEARNS, from Montrose Street, Glasgow. Ordained as colleague to Dr Thomson 30th September 1846. Mr Mearns has published —

“Lectures on the Second Psalm ;" a small work entitled, “ The Christian Eucharist;" and another, entitled, “The Olive, the Vine, and the Palm ;" “ Tirosh lo yain ;" “The Devoted Minister, a Memoir of Rev. D. Wilson, Cumnock;” “Wark Castle ; " " A Nation at Prayer, a Memorial of the National Thanksgiving, 1872."

EAST CHURCH. Several families and individuals belonging to the Relief Church having come to reside in Coldstream, from which the nearest place of worship in their connection was 8.1 miles distant, and finding only two churches in the town and parish, while they regarded the population as admitting of a third, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Relief Presbytery of Kelso 1824. Church built 1826 ; sittings, 80o.

ist Minister.-JAMES S. TAYLOR, from Roxburgh Place, Edinburgh. Ordained 17th January 1828. Translated to Hutchesontown, Glasgow, 19th November 1839.

2d Minister.- JAMES PORTEOUS, previously of High Street, Jedburgh. Translated to Coldstream, 3d March 1840. Died at Spittal, Monday 230 August 1869, in the 81st year of his age and 55th of his ministry. He preached forenoon and afternoon of the previous day, and was seized with illness while preaching. On the celebration of his jubilee, 13th July 1864, he was presented with a purse containing £145.

3d Minister.-GEORGE F. Ross, from Nicolson Street, Edinburgh. Called to Hull and Coldstream. Ordained 20th September 1870.

STOCKBRIDGE. Stockbridge is a bamlet in the parish of Cockburnspath, Berwickshire, 9 miles south-east of Dunbar, 9 north-west of Coldingham, and 11 north of Dunse.

The congregation of Stockbridge originated in the dissatisfaction felt by many of the parishioners of Cockburnspath with the ministrations of the incumbent of the parish. One of these happening to hear the Rev. Mr Henderson, of the Secession Church, Dunbar, preach at the baptism of a child belonging to one of his people, resident in Cockburnspath, expressed a wish to him that regular supply of sermon, by the denomination to which he belonged, might be afforded to the place. On this wish being reported by Mr Henderson to the Presbytery of Edinburgh, it was agreed to make trial how far the people of the district concurred in it, by sending preachers to them for a time. This was accordingly done in 1776, and attended with success. The first place of meeting was at Old Cambus, by which name the congregation was originally designated. After some years it was removed to Woodend, near the Pease Bridge—a very inconvenient place—but the only one available at the time. After numerous rebuffs from proprietors of land, to whom application was made, a site was obtained from Sir James Hall, of Dunglass, and the present place of worship built upon it, 1793 ; sittings, 425.

ist Minister.—GEORGE CAMPBELL, from Wellington Street, Kilmarnock. Called to Stitchel and Stockbridge. Ordained 19th August 1794. Died 230 November 1817, in the 56th year of his age and 24th of his ministry. Mr Campbell published “Sermons on Interesting Subjects,” in one volume.

2d Minister.DAVID MÄQUATER INGLIS, from Kincardine. Called to Sanquhar and Stockbridge. Ordained 25th August 1819. Died 8th April 1867, in the 77th year of his age and 48th of his ministry.

3d Minister.—GEORGE Hill Dick, from Edinburgh, Lothian Road. Ordained 6th November 1867. Translated to Glasgow, Eglinton Street, 5th December 1871.

ΑΥΤΟΝ. Ayton is a village in Berwickshire, 9 miles north-west of Berwick, and 20 east of Dunbar.

SUMMERHILL. This congregation originated in the circumstance of the Rev. Mr Dickson of Berwick preaching a sermon in Ayton, at the baptism of a child belonging to a member of his congregation, resident in the place; upon which occasion so large a company assembled, that the thought at once suggested itself to many persons present, of applying for regular supply of sermon from the denomination to which Mr Dickson belonged. After consultation among themselves, this was accordingly done, and sermon was afforded them by the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Kelso, 1777. Church built, 1779; sittings, 295. A new church was opened, 14th July 1864, with sittings for 500, at a cost of £1300. A new manse has also been built.

ist Minister.John Thomson, from Bridge of Teith. Ordained 1783. Deposed 1794. Enlisted; was killed by falling from a rock at Gibraltar.

The congregation called Mr Cameron, who was appointed by the Synod to Moffat.

2d Minister.—David Ure, from Haddington (East). Ordained 27th August 1795. Died 31st December 1845, in the 73d year of his age and 51st of his ministry.

3d Minister.—THOMAS MONTGOMERY, from Annan. Ordained 29th September 1846.

SPRINGBANK. In August 1774 the people in Mordington Mains, Greenlaw, Faldon, Faldon Hag, Flemington, and East Renton, belonging to the General Associate (Antiburgher) congregation of Dunse, petitioned the Presbytery of Kelso to be disjoined from that congregation, and formed into a separate one, with its seat in Coldingham, for the

accommodation of a portion of the congregation of East Barns (now the second congregation, Dunbar), which was expected to join it. The petition was granted. In August 1775 these parties, along with 15 members of the Established Church, petitioned the Presbytery to allow Ayton, instead of Coldingham, to become the seat of the congregation, as more convenient for the persons moving in the formation of it. This was opposed by the congregation in Dunse, on the ground that their boundaries extended to Clazeburn and Achincrow, 8 and 7 miles from Dunse, and 5 miles from Ayton ; and that to make Ayton the place of meeting would be encroaching upon the limits which they held had been allowed to them. After much importunity, the change of meeting-place was permitted, and Ayton became the seat of the congregation in 1779. Church built, 1781; sittings, 270. New church opened, 9th April 1872, by Rev. Professor Cairns, with sittings for 350, at a cost of £1500; opening collection, £100, 125. 6d.

ist Minister.JOHN TURNBULL. Ordained 3d March 1779. Deposed 23d February 1790, but restored in 1792. Removed to Glasgow, and died there, 1823.

2d Minister.—ROBERT Wilson, from Morebattle. Ordained 28th May 1792. Died 17th February 1816, in the 59th year of his age and 24th of his ministry.

3d Minister.—JAMES STARK, from Cumbernauld (Second). Ordained 13th April 1819. Died 22d July 1869, in the 78th year of his age and 51st of his ministry.

4th Minister.-WILLIAM Wilson, from Kirkcaldy. Ordained as colleague to Mr Stark, 3d March 1869.

HORNDEAN. Horndean is a village in the parish of Ladykirk, Berwickshire, 9 miles southeast of Dunse, and 8 west of Berwick; nearest station Norham, 3 miles distant.

Ministers were violently intruded into the parishes of Ladykirk and Hutton, which immediately adjoin each other, in the course of eighteen months preceding the Secession of “ The Four Brethren” from the Established Church. Several persons in both parishes joined the Seceders in consequence, and took part in the formation of the first Secession congregation of Dunse when it arose. In course of time other Secession congregations arose in the surrounding district, and some of the Seceders in Ladykirk and Hutton became connected with them. Those of them belonging to the congregation of Golden Square, Berwick, finding the distance inconvenient, knowing the ministers of the parishes of Ladykirk and Hutton to be unacceptable to many of their people both on account of their life and doctrine, and presuming that they were able to support public ordinances among themselves, applied for, and obtained, supply of sermon from the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Kelso, 1784. Organised into a congregation 1785, when it was found that a number of the persons constituting it had previously belonged to the Established Church. Church built, 1786; enlarged, 1812 ; sittings, 450.

ist Minister.ALEXANDER CALDERHEAD. Ordained 1787. Resigned 1802. Accompanied the Rev. Dr Mason of New York to America, in furtherance of the object with which that gentleman visited this country. Became minister of a congregation in the state of Ohio, and died there.

The congregation called Mr Campbell, who was appointed by the Synod to Tarbolton; Mr Thomson, who was appointed to Coldstream ; Mr Stewart, who was appointed to Stirling; and Mr R. Fletcher, who was appointed to Hamilton.

2d Minister.—WILLIAM LEE, from Selkirk (First). Ordained 25th August 1807, Died 11th April 1854, in the 47th year of his ministry.

3d Minister.- JOHN STARK, from Ayton (West), of which his father was minister. Ordained as colleague to Mr Lee, roth October 1849.


Belford is a town in Northumberland, 12 miles north of Alnwick, and 8 northeast of Wooler.

The edifice occupied by the United Presbyterian congregation of Belfordoriginally a dwelling-house-was leased in 1777 for 99 years as a place of worship for Protestant dissenters, by the minority of a congregation previously in connection with the Church of Scotland. At the election of a minister for that congregation they had preferred Mr Poole to Mr Waters, the other candidate, and, failing in their object, withdrew from the majority; and, with the consent of the Presbytery, were formed into a separate congregation, with Mr Poole for their minister. Mr Poole was translated to Hexham, 1786. After several unsuccessful attempts to procure a successor to him from among the licentiates of the Church of Scotland, they passed the place of worship into the hands of members of the congregation of Wooler, resident in and about Belford, by whom sermon was obtained from the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Coldstream, 1788.

After being organised as a congregation in this connection, they called Mr Jardine, who was appointed by the Synod to Langholm. This disappointment so disheartened and offended them, that they forthwith made overtures to members of 'the congregation of Norham to join them in a petition for supply of sermon to the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Kelso, which was successfully done, 1791.

Ist Minister.—JOHN THOMSON, from Muckart. Ordained 27th February 1793. Died 25th February 1845, in the 83d year of his age and 52d of his ministry.

2d Minister.John HUNTER, from Penicuik. Called to South Ronaldshay and Belford. Ordained 17th August 1831, as colleague to Mr Thomson. Died ad August 1866, in the 62d year of his age and 35th of his ministry.

3d Minister.JOHN LAING, B.A., from Glasgow (Duke Street). Ordained 23d April 1867.

COLDINGHAM. Coldingham is a village in the parish of the same name, Berwickshire, 11 miles north-west of Berwick, and 18 south-east of Dunbar.

RELIEF. The parish church of Coldingham having become vacant in 1792, the patron presented the Rev. James Landale, of Witherington, Northumberland, to the charge. This appointment was remonstrated against by a number of the parishioners, who, finding remonstrance vain, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Relief Presbytery of Kelso, 1793. Church built the same year; sittings, 609.

« ZurückWeiter »