« ZurückWeiter »
sulted together, agreed to petition the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Edinburgh for supply of sermon in 1753, which was granted. They purchased a house in Canongate, which in Roman Catholic times was one of the many “religious houses” in Alnwick, but had been converted into a dwelling-house long before it came into their hands, and had it reconstructed into a suitable place of meeting for worship and religious instruction. In 1770 they took possession of a place of worship they had built for themselves in Ogle Terrace, Clayport Street, containing 400 sittings. From this they removed in 1803 to one they had erected in Greenbat, containing 550 sittings. The Duke of Northumberland wishing to build an Episcopal Church on the site occupied by the Presbyterian one (the ground on which it stood belonged to him), and the lease being expired, requested it to be removed, contributing a small sum for the purpose. They thus came to build, in 1846, the place of worship in Clayport Street, which they now occupy, containing 600 sittings.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called, ist, Mr James Mitchell, but the call was afterwards withdrawn, and he never received another; 2d, Mr Kinloch, who was not allowed to accept the call because of a fama which had arisen against him, but who afterwards became minister of Abbey Close congregation, Paisley
ist Minister.-JOHN MARSHALL, from Stitchell. Ordained 1766. Died 1805, in the 64th year of his age and 39th of his ministry.
The congregation then called Mr Thomson, who was appointed by the Synod to Coldstream.
2d Minister.-DAVID PATERSON, A.M., from Stow. Called also to North Berwick and Alnwick. Ordained 21st August 1806. Died 22d November 1843, in the 68th year of his age and 38th of his ministry. Author of a volume of Sermons, three Discourses on a Future State, a Discourse on Election and Perseverance, and two Discourses to the Young.
3d Minister.— JOHN KER, A.M., D.D., from Broughton Place, Edinburgh. Ordained 11th February 1845. Called to Barrhead 1849. Called twice to Campbell Street, Glasgow, 1850, and translated thither 19th March 1851.
4th Minister.—WILLIAM LIMONT, from Nicolson Street, Edinburgh. Ordained 230 December 1852.
LISBURN STREET. This congregation originated in the home missionary operations of the Relief Presbytery of Kelso. The Rev. William Ritchie, of Berwick, was appointed to preach in Alnwick in 1837. The cause having prospered, a place of worship was erected in Lisburn Street by its promoters, in 1839, containing 500 sittings.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor the congregation called Mr Wyper, who preferred Newcastle.
Ist Minister.—PETER GLASSFORD, from Hutchesontown, Glasgow. Ordained 10th October 1838. Translated to Leitholm, Berwickshire, 31st August 1842.
2d Minister.—David DONALDSON, from Kettle. Ordained 8th February 1843.
BERWICK. Berwick is a seaport town at the mouth of the Tweed, 54 miles south-east of Edinburgh, and 64 north of Newcastle.
CHAPEL STREET. This congregation was originally in connection with the Church of Scotland. The Rev. Thomas Monteith had been minister of the congregation in Hyde Hill, or “ The Low Meeting," as it was commonly called, for some years in connection with the Church of Scotland, when he received a call from the Relief congregation of Dunse, which he accepted, and was received at the same time into connection with the Relief Synod. He was succeeded in Berwick by Rev. William Crookshank, M.A., a minister in connection with the Church of Scotland, who, failing to give satisfaction, resigned and removed to London, and became minister of the Scots Church, Swallow Street, Westminster. Mr Crookshank is the author of “ The History of the State and Sufferings of the Church of Scotland from the Restoration to the Revolution,” 2 vols. After his resignation, the congregation applied to be taken into connection with the Relief Church, and were received. Church built, 1756; sittings, 780.
ist Minister in connection with the Relief Synod.-ANDREW THOMSON. Ordained 1778. Died 1813, in the 63d year of his age and 35th of his ministry.
2d Minister.—ROBERT Hall, previously of Dundee. Translated to Berwick 230 June 1814. Died 1st March 1834, in the 48th year of his age and 20th of his ministry.
3d Minister.—WILLIAM RITCHIE, previously of Auchtergaven. Translated to Berwick 26th May 1835. Author of " Azuba,” and Lectures on Baptism. Resigned his charge in consequence of ill-health, 9th May 1859.
4th Minister.—David Paterson, formerly of Newcastle, Zion Chapel. Inducted as colleague to Mr Ritchie, December ist 1857. Demitted his charge 8th June 1858. Now living privately in Kirkcaldy.
5th Minister.— JAMES MʻLEISH, from Dunning. Called to Muckart, Eyemouth, and Berwick. Ordained 31st May 1859.
WALLACE GREEN. This congregation originated with members of the Church of Scotland resident in the town, who being desirous of a purer dispensation of the Gospel and a stricter exercise of discipline than were afforded in the connection to which they had previously belonged, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Edinburgh, 1770. Church built in Golden Square, 1771; enlarged, 1796; sittings, 1000.
A new church was opened in Wallace Green on the 3d Sabbath of June 1859; collection, £192, 1os. The site cost £705. Total cost of the church, with site, £5712, 25. 2 d. A gallery was added in 1865, costing £194, 1s. 11d. Sittings at first, 970. Of these 56 were removed at the erection of the gallery ; 112 additional were given in the gallery, making in all, 1026. Anniversary collection in 1869, £192, ios.
ist Minister.--ALEXANDER Dickson, from Blackfriars, Jedburgh. Ordained 22d April 1772. Died 12th September 1780, in the 63d year of his age and oth of his ministry.
2d Minister.— JOHN BLACKHALL, from Selkirk. Called to Dundee and Berwick. Ordained 3d January 1782. Died 3d March 1813, in the 58th year of his age and 32d of his ministry.
3il Minister.- ROBERT BALMER, D.D., from Blackfriars, Jedburgh. Called to Lochwinnoch, Ecclefechan, Leslie, and Berwick. Ordained 23d March 1814. Appointed Professor of Theology by the United Associate Synod, 1834. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the University of St Andrews, 1840. Died ist July 1844, in the 57th year of his age and 31st of his ministry.
Author of "A Charge delivered to the Rev. Robert Redpath, at his Induction as Minister of Wells Street congregation, London ;' “Essay on the Character of the Rev. Dr Belfrage of Falkirk,” appended to a "Memoir of his Life," by Drs M‘Kerrow and M‘Farlane ; “Sermon preached in Broughton Place Church, after the death of Mrs Brown, wife of the Rev. Dr Brown,” affixed to a Memoir of her by her husband; “ Statements on certain Doctrinal Points ; " " Redemption from Death and the Grave : Two Sermons, preached after the Death of the Rev. David Paterson, of Alnwick;" “ The Scriptural Principles of Unity,” forming the second Essay in a volume, entitled ** Essays on Christian Union," by several ministers. Two volumes of his Academical Lectures and Pulpit Discourses were published after his death, with a Memoir of his Life, by the Rev. Dr Henderson, of Galashiels.
4th Minister.-JOHN CAIRNS, A.M., D.D., from Stockbridge, Berwickshire. Ordained 1845. Called to Rose Street, Edinburgh, 1846, but continued in Berwick. Called to Greyfriars, Glasgow, 23d April 1855, but continued in Berwick. Called to Morningside, Edinburgh, in 1864, but declined the call. Called to Edinburgh, Nicolson Street, April 1867, but declined the call. Appointed Professor of Apologetics to the United Presbyterian Church, 16th May 1867. Had the degree of D.D. conferred on him by the University of Edinburgh in 1858.
Translator from the German of “Elijah the Tishbite,” by Dr Krummacher ; author of “Fragments of College and Pastoral Life," a Mémoir of the late Rev. John Clark, of Glasgow; a pamphlet entitled “An Examination of Professor Ferrier's “Theory of Knowing and Being ;'” and another entitled “The Scottish Philosophy, a Vindication and Reply ; " " Rationalism ; " “ Sketch of the Character of Rev. A. Kirkwood ; " " Success of Christianity an argument for its Divine Origin ;' Essay prefixed to “Lord Bacon's Bible Thoughts ;” “ False Christs and the True, a Discourse;" * The Membership of the Christian Church and the Purity of her Communion ;” “ Memoir of Dr Brown ;” “ Memoir of Dr Henderson of Galashiels ;” “Every Man's Duty to avail himself of his Sabbath Rights ;" Essay prefixed to Culverwell.
CHURCH STREET. This congregation originated with eight members of the congregation of Norham and members of the West congregation, Ayton, resident in Berwick, who, on account of the inconvenient distance of their respective places of worship, applied for and obtained supply of worship from the General Associate (Antiburgher) Presbytery of Kelso, 1812. Church built same year ; sittings, 600. Soon after the settlement of the first minister, the membership was 370.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr A. Isaac, probationer, afterwards of Londonderry, Ohio, America.
ist Minister.—WILLIAM YOUNG, A.M., from Oakshaw Street, Paisley. Ordained 3d April 1816. Died 21st June 1840, in the 48th year of his age and 25th of his ministry. Author of “ Analysis of Shorter Catechism for the Young."
The congregation then called Mr Laurie, who preferred Partick, Mr Edmond, who preferred Dennyloanhead, and Mr Duncan, who preferred Mid-Calder.
2d Minister.— JOHN PEDEN, previously of East Regent Place, Glasgow. Admitted to Berwick 22d February 1842. Died 11th July 1858, in the 48th year of his age and 20th of his ministry. Author of a Sermon entitled, “Intemperance a great barrier to the progress of the Gospel.”
3d Minister.—JAMES GRIERSON Scott, from Broughton Place, Edinburgh. Ordained 15th November 1859. Translated to St Andrews 5th August 1868.
4th Minister.-JOHN CROMBIE BROWN, LL.D., formerly of Belmont Street, Aberdeen. Inducted 2d March 1869. Demitted his charge 5th July 1870. Lived privately in Berwick.
5th Minister.—JAMES STEPHENS, M.A., from Glasgow, Sydney Place. Ordained 24th January 1871.
BANKHILL (Now EXTINCT.) This congregation originated with a minority of the congregation of Chapel Street, Berwick, who preferred another candidate to the successful one, at the election of a minister, after the death of Mr Hall; and on that account withdrew from the majority, and were allowed by the presbytery to form a separate congregation. Church built, 1835; sittings, 530.
ist Minister.—ALEXANDER M'Coll, from Bridgeton, Glasgow. Called to Bonhill and Berwick. Ordained 14th July 1835. Resigned 230 January 1847. Emigrated to America, and became minister of a congregation at Seneca Falls, in that country.
2d Minister.—Hugh DUNLOP, from Irvine, Relief. Ordained ad August 1848. Resigned with March 1851.
The congregation called Mr Goodburn, afterwards of Waterbeck, Mr George Sandie, afterwards of Gourock, and Mr John Thomson, afterwards of West Calder, all of whom declined the calls. Dispirited by these disappointments, and seeing the congregation had never prospered, and that there was no great need for its continuance in a small town already possessing three congregations of the same denomination, the members came to the resolution of dissolving it, and dispersing themselves among the churches in the place, according as their preferences might lead them. This was accordingly done, and the place of worship disposed of to the English Presbyterians, 15th February 1853.
WOOLER. Wooler is a town in Northumberland, 45 miles north-west of Newcastle, 17 south-west of Berwick, and 17 west of Alnwick.
TOWER HILL. A praying society in Wooler acceded to the Associate Presbytery in 1737, and afterwards formed part of the congregation of Morebattle. In April 1749, the members of this society petitioned the General Associate (Antiburgher) Synod for supply of sermon in Wooler, which was granted. The Synod, however, was prevented by the paucity of preachers from maintaining the station efficiently. It was, therefore, relinquished in the course of the following year. In 1763, a number of persons belonging to a congregation in the town, connected with the Northumberland class of Presbyterians, sought refuge from the strife and division which then prevailed in it, by connecting themselves, as a congregation, with the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Kelso. Church built, 1779; sittings, 400; new church built, 1868, at a cost of £1300; sittings, 435.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Kyle, who was appointed by the Synod to Kinross.
Ist Minister.-GEORGE BELL, from Blackfriars, Jedburgh. Ordained 25th March 1778. Died ad November 1800, in the 63d year of his age and 23d of his ministry.
2d Minister.—JAMES ROBERTSON, from Kinross (West). Called to Tarbolton and Wooler. Ordained 11th August 1802. Died 25th March 1855, in the 78th year of his age and 53d of his ministry.
3d Minister.—PETER WHYTE, from Dalreoch. Called to Keith and Wooler. Ordained as colleague to Mr Robertson, 15th November 1848.
CHEVIOT STREET. A congregation of Protestant dissenters was formed in Wooler in 1700, and supplied with sermon by the neighbouring ministers of Etal, Barmoor, and Branton, till 1706, after which they had a regular succession ordained over them for a hundred years. Happening to be vacant in 1806, they were supplied with preachers of the Church of Scotland. These failing to give satisfaction, the congregation applied, on 7th July 1807, to be taken into connection with the Relief Synod, and were received. First church built, 1770 ; second built, 1778; sittings, 1000.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Johnston twice, who preferred a call to Edinburgh.
ist Minister.—William Gilmour, previously of Banff. Admitted to Wooler 4th August 1808. Died ad April 1835, in the 730 year of his age and 30th of his ministry.
2d Minister.—JAMES LOGAN MUIRHEAD, from St Ninians. Ordained as colleague to Mr Gilmour 22d May 1833.
COLDSTREAM. Coldstream is a market town in Berwickshire, 9 miles east of Kelso, 103 south-west of Dunse, and 144 west of Berwick.
WEST CHURCH. This congregation originated with a few members of the congregation of Stitchel, resident in Coldstream, who, partly for their own convenience, and partly for the benefit of the place, applied for and obtained supply of sermon from the Associate (Burgher) Presbytery of Edinburgh, 17th December 1767. First church built, 1768 ; second built, 1806; sittings, 950.
ist Minister.-JOHN RIDDOCH, from Stirling (First). Ordained 24th November 1768. Resigned 29th May 1804. Removed to St Ninian's, and died there, 1806.
2d Minister.—ADAM THOMSON, A.M., D.D., from the congregation of which he became minister. Called to Leslie, Horndean, Alnwick, and Coldstream. Ordained 12th March 1806. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the College of Miami, Oxford, Ohio, United States, 1838. Died 23d February 1861, in the 82d year of his age and 55th of his ministry.
Author of "Two Discourses on the Distress of Widows and Fatherless Children,” Memoir of his Brother, the Rev. Peter Thomson, of the Scotch Church, Leeds, and of Sermons occasioned by