« ZurückWeiter »
of site, about £1400. Cheapside Street church has been disposed of, and the congregation is now (1872) erecting a new one in Breadalbane Street. For the last ten years the congregation has been self-sustaining.
1st Minister.-William MILLER, previously of Longridge. Inducted 3d January 1856. Died 13th January 1860, in the 56th year of his age, and 29th of his ministry.
2d Minister.—John Wilson, Ph.D. of Heidelberg, from Edinburgh (Nicolson Street). Called to Arbroath (Grimsby), and Glasgow. Ordained 5th June 1860.
In 1854, the Rev. Robert Niven, missionary in Caffraria, returned to Scotland to await the issue of the sore affliction which befel his wife by reason of the Caffre War of 1850-3. As he was unwilling to hamper the Mission Board, he declined several inviting offers to undertake settled ministerial work at home. On consulting Dr Robertson of Shamrock Street, and DrStruthers of Anderston, as to a field of temporary labour, both agreed that Maryhill was a good field. Dr Robertson accompanied Mr Niven to spy out the land. They found it reported to be “the Dead Sea, with the Jordan running into it,” and a convenient out-field for Shamrock Street Church, two miles to the north-west. The congregation of Shamrock Street accordingly adopted it as their mission field. The matter was further submitted to the Established and Free Church ministers of the place, and a beginning made. The Oddfellows' Hall, seated for 250, was rented as a place of worship, and opened as a preaching station on 5th February 1853, the services being conducted by Rev. Drs Robertson and Anderson, and Mr Niven, the collection being £25. Household visitation among a population of 3000 souls-one-third of whom were Romanists, with a chapel and resident priest among them—was forthwith begun, and district Sabbath schools were opened. The attendance in the Hall during the day averaged one hundred, and double that number in the evenings. Application was made to the Presbytery of Glasgow in July 1835, to be congregated; and in October, 29 members and 71 adherents were formed into a congregation. The Rev. John M‘Laren was appointed to ordain elders and moderate in the Session. The Lord's Supper was dispensed for the first time on the last Sabbath of October by Mr Niven, when 63 communicated. In March 1856, a call was given to Mr Niven, signed by 75 members and 30 adherents.
The foundation of a church was laid on 18th September 1858, and on 3d Sabbath of May 1859, the new church was opened by Drs Robertson, Frew, and J. L. Aikman, with sittings for 430, at a cost of £1340. A gallery was added in May 1865 with sittings for 140, making in all, 570. A manse was built in 1868 at a cost of £1069.
Ist Minister.-ROBERT Niven, previously of Caffraria. Inducted 30th April 1856. Author of “ Correspondence with Sir George Cathcart on the Caffre War and Caffrarian Missions."
POLLOK STREET. A few members of the United Presbyterian Church residing in the south-west portion of the City of Glasgow, taking into consideration the rapid increase of the population in that locality, deemed the erection of a place of worship there very desirable and necessary. In November 1855, forty-five members of the United
Presbyterian Church presented a petition to the Glasgow Presbytery, asking to be congregated. The petition was granted, and the Rev. Dr John Macfarlane of Erskine Church being appointed Moderator, constituted the members into a congregation on the evening of 17th December 1855. On the Sabbath following, the hall adjoining the church afterwards erected in Pollok Street was opened for public worship by Rev. Drs Macfarlane and Anderson.
The building of the church began on 28th March 1855, and the church was opened on 16th March 1856. The number of sittings is 986, and the entire cost of the church, hall, offices, and church officer's house, was £6013, 9s. rod.
Ist Minister.-JAMES Knox, A.M., D.D., previously of Ayr, Wallacetown (now Darlington Place). Inducted on 2d September 1856. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the University of Glasgow in April 1870.
Author of “ Sermon on the Death of the Duke of Wellington " (2 Sam. ii. 38) in 1852 ; “The Pastor's Farewell ” (2 John 8) in 1856; “Lecture delivered before the Theological Society of the United Presbyterian Divinity Hall" (September 1867); “On the Combined Progressive and Conservative Elements in Nature and Religion,” in 1870.
ad church "umber of March 1857
CLAREMONT. In the year 1855, members of the congregations of Greyfriars, Wellington Street, Anderston, Shamrock Street, and Cambridge Street, began a preaching station in Sandyford Collegiate School, in order to provide church accommodation for the United Presbyterians resident in Sandyford district in the west end of Glasgow. They were congregated in November 1855, and in February 1856 applied to the Presbytery for a moderation in a call to one to be their minister. A call was presented to the Presbytery in April, signed by twenty-five members, and a paper of concurrence by twenty-nine adherents, to Rev. Alexander MacEwen of Helensburgh. In due time Mr MacEwen accepted the call, and entered on his new charge on the 17th August 1856, the day the church was opened.
Claremont Church was built from designs furnished by the Messrs Hay of Liverpool, and the interior is considered one of the finest produced by these eminent architects. The church has cost upwards of £9000, and lets for 1100. The whole debt was paid off within five years of Mr MacEwen's settlement, a fact, we believe, almost without a precedent. For several years now every sitting in the church has been let. The congregation raise annually, for congregational and missionary purposes, about £4000.
The origin of this congregation, it may be added, attracted particular attention, from the fact of an organ being put into the church, and the discussions which ensued thereupon. The congregation appeared at the Synod in 1856, and again in 1858, to ask liberty to use their organ in conducting their psalmody, but their request in both cases was refused. Though they were quite unanimous in their desire to employ instrumental music in public worship, it is to their credit that they never used their organ in any way, after the dates of the Synodical decisions, till 1872, when the Synod relaxed its enactment regarding instrumental music. They have been from the first most liberal contributors to the missionary and other schemes of the Church.
ist Minister.—ALEXANDER MACEWEN, D.D., previously of Helensburgh. Translated to Glasgow in 1856. Received the degree of D.D. from Glasgow University in 1864.
ALBERT STREET. This congregation (originally Blackfriars) owes its origin to Regent Place Church, while under the ministry of Rev. Dr Edmond. The congregation of Regent Place took a deep interest in the non-church-going population around. By the Presbytery's committee a place of worship was purchased in Blackfriars Street, and the church was opened for public worship, ist July 1855, when the Rev. William Cowan, formerly of Buckhaven, who had accepted an invitation to cultivate the district, began his labours. On 12th March 1856, the station was congregated, and on the 23d September 1856, a call was given to Mr Cowan. His induction took place on ist October 1856. The money necessary for maintaining ordinances was raised at first by subscription among the members of Regent Place; and up till 1864, when the Home Mission Board took charge of Blackfriars, and the connection with Regent Place was dissolved, the sum of £1519 had been raised by the parent church on behalf of the infant cause. The church in Blackfriars was bought for £1400, and has sittings for 650. The secluded position of the church, and the annoyances sustained during divine service from the brawling and fighting in the neighbourhood, induced the congregation to look out for a more open position.
The memorial stone of a new church in Albert Street was laid on 6th October 1871, by William Graham, Esq., M.P. for Glasgow. The church was opened on 8th September 1872, by Rev. Dr M‘Michael, Mr Brunton, and Rev. A. N. Somerville, Anderston, with sittings for 750, at a cost of about £3000.
1st Minister.—WILLIAM Cowan, previously of Buckhaven. Admitted ist October 1856. Died 15th August 1863, in the 48th year of his age, and 17th of his ministry.
2d Minister.—ALEXANDER BRUNTON, previously of Oban. Inducted 25th October 1864.
BERKELEY STREET. In March 1856, commissioners appeared before Glasgow Presbytery from the second congregation, East Campbell Street, and presented a petition, signed by 140 members of said congregation, bearing that they had erected a new church in Berkeley Street, and craving that they be disjoined, along with the Rev. William Ramage, their minister, and formed into a separate congregation. At next meeting of Presbytery it was stated that the congregation had agreed not to oppose the petition, and to wish their brethren who were leaving them all success. Mr Ramage intimated his concurrence in the petition, and the Presbytery granted the disjunction as requested.
Berkeley Street Church was opened on Sabbath, 11th May 1856, when Professor Lindsay, Mr Ramage, and Dr Robson preached. The collections amounted to £283, 8s. 2d.--the members having previously contributed for the building the sum of £1500. The church contains 900 sittings, and cost five thousand guineas.
1st Minister.-WILLIAM RAMAGE, previously of East Campbell Street Church. Removed to Berkeley Street, 11th May 1856.
2d Minister.-GEORGE LINDLEY CARSTAIRS, from Edinburgh (James' Place). Called to Tillicoultry, Kilmarnock, and Berkeley Street. Ordained as colleague to Mr Ramage, 3d October 1871.
SPRINGBURN. This congregation originated with persons belonging to the denomination resident in the district, but who had been in the habit of travelling to their respective places of worship in Glasgow. They made application to the Presbytery of Glasgow to be formed into a congregation, and on the 12th February 1856 they were congregated accordingly. The church was opened for public worship on the 17th August 1856. It contains sittings for 450, and cost £816, 175. 5d. The congregation is now engaged (1872) in building a new and more commodious church.
Before obtaining a fixed minister, a call was given to Mr M. Crawford, but declined.
Ist Minister.—WALTER CHISHOLM, from Galashiels (West). Ordained 31st August 1858. Died 29th November 1859, in the 38th year of his age, and ad of his ministry.
2d Minister.- JAMES A. JOHNSTON, previously of West Linton. Admitted 3d July 1861.
LANGSIDE ROAD. In the summer of 1856 it was thought desirable to open a mission station in the neighbourhood of Langside. Services were commenced in the Crossmyloof schoolroom on the 13th July 1856. For a number of Sabbaths the station was supplied by various ministers. The committee in charge at length invited the Rev. Henry Erskine Fraser, M.A., of North Shields, to become the resident missionary. He accepted the invitation, demitted his charge of North Shields ad September 1856, and began his labours on the 21st September. In August 1857 the station was congregated by the Presbytery with 33 members, and in February 1858 the congregation unanimously called Mr Fraser to become their minister. The church was opened on 6th March 1859; cost £1600, and contains 450 sittings.
Ist Minister.—HENRY ERSKINE FRASER, M.A., formerly of North Shields. Admitted 23d March 1858.
CUMBERLAND STREET. On the roth June 1862, a petition from 106 persons attending ordinances in the Tontine Reading Room, Glasgow, craving to be erected into a congregation, was received by the Glasgow Presbytery. The usual steps were taken with this application, and on the 9th September, 65 members were formed into a congregation. The congregation, then under the care of the Rev. John Frazer, removed from the Tontine to Wellington Academy, Commercial Road, 12th May 1863. On the 14th July 1863, it was reported to the Presbytery that they had secured a site for a church at the head of Matheson Street and South Wellington Street. A call was issued in favour of Mr Frazer on 25th January 1864, and his induction took place on 23d February. The Presbytery, on roth April 1866, agreed to raise £125, on condition that the congregation raised a like sum, in order to build a brick church capable of holding from 400 to 500 persons.
Ist Minister.-JOHN FRAZER, formerly of Goderich, Canada. Admitted 23d February 1864.
BARRACK STREET. A petition was presented to Glasgow Presbytery on the gth December 1862, from elders, managers, and congregation formerly worshipping under the ministry of the deceased Dr John Graham, some time minister of Duke Street Church, and latterly of the Independent Secession Church, Barrack Street. The petition expressed their desire to be admitted into the United Presbyterian Church, and craved the Presbytery to appoint a committee to meet with a committee of themselves for advice. The Presbytery granted the petition, and ordered supply of sermon in the meantime to be provided. In February 1863 it was agreed to recognise the congregation, and organise it as a church. The membership was found to be about 200.
Ist Minister.—WILLIAM MUNSIE, from Glasgow, Montrose Street. Called to Linlithgow (East), Perth (York Place), and Barrack Street. Ordained 26th November 1863. Translated to Slateford 4th May 1869.
This congregation still continues (1872) without a settled minister.
An application was made to the Presbytery of Glasgow by 70 persons worshipping at the station of Baillieston, on roth November 1863, craving to be formed into a congregation. The usual steps being taken, the station was erected into a congregation on the 6th December 1863. The preaching station was begun in 1862, and the church was opened in February 1864, with sittings for 600.
On the 7th November 1864 the congregation called Mr Hugh Macfarlane, who preferred a call from Oban.
1st Minister.—JOHN MACINTYRE, from Paisley (Abbey Close). Ordained ist June 1865. Demitted his charge 12th September 1871, having accepted an appointment by the Foreign Mission Board as a missionary to China.
The congregation called Rev. Archibald Alison of Leslie, who declined the call.
2d Minister.-ALEXANDER THOMSON MʻLEAN, from Edinburgh (Newington). Ordained 14th August 1872.
This congregation originated in the very centre of Glasgow, not far from the old College, and in the same locality in which once flourished the Secession Divinity Hall. Shuttle Street, where the first Secession Church in Glasgow stood, is at the head of Canon Street. In this central part of the city, amidst a large but sinking population, a considerable missionary agency had been in force for a long time. In the years 1860-2, there was a spiritual awakening in this district. Among other agencies at work, a course of domestic prayer meetings was kept up by a number of pious artisans, whose efforts issued in the formation of a missionary society. This association, under the superintendence of Mr Robert Campbell, shaped itself into a mission station, and in 1863 Mr Campbell was ordained the first minister thereof. In May 1865, he accepted a call from Aldershot, at the military camp. In the end of 1865, the Rev. W. Barras, who had been carrying on evangelistic work in the Tontine district, was inducted into Canon Street, and added the members whom he had gathered in the Tontine to Canon Street Church. By the liberality of John