« ZurückWeiter »
to Gillespie Church, Glasgow, 3d September 1844. Author of a Sermon on “ The Duty of Christians in reference to Intoxicating Liquors.”
GOVAN. In the year 1837 a station in connection with the United Secession Church was formed in the village of Govan, to the charge of which Mr James Hay, preacher, was appointed by the Presbytery of Glasgow. In June 1838 Mr Hay was settled over a mission charge in Inverary, and Mr Lowe was appointed to that of Govan. At that time the number of members was thirty, while the population of the village, as distinguished from the parish of Govan, was only 1000. Previously the parish church had been the only place of worship in Govan. In 1842 Mr Lowe was ordained in Barrhead; and on the invitation of the Govan people, Mr Hay in 1843 returned to labour among them. The place of meeting for religious services was a school-room, and was quite insufficient for the increasing congregation. Large ship-building works had been established in the vicinity, greatly increasing the population and strengthening the young congregation. In 1846 the membership, exclusive of adherents, was 85. Measures were therefore taken to build a place of worship, for which a site was obtained on the lands of Burndyke, on the road from Glasgow to Renfrew. The church was opened in March 1847, with sittings for 350, at a cost of £1000. A gallery was erected in 1855, at a cost of £300. It was not till the church was built that Mr Hay was formally inducted, in June 1847. A new church in Govan Road was opened on the 9th October 1870, by the Rev. Dr John Wilson, Moderator of the Free Church Assembly; Rev. P. M.Dowall, M.A., Moderator of the U.P. Synod; and Rev. George Clazy, Moderator of the Reformed Presbyterian-Synod; collection £290. The building is in the Grecian style, accomniodates 1000 sitters, and cost £5400.
ist Minister.—JAMES HAY, from Dennyloanhead. Previously of Inverary. Located in Govan in 1843. Inducted 29th June 1847. Died 13th January 1868, in the 59th year of his age and 30th of his ministry.
2d Minister.— JOHN BROWN JOHNSTON, D. D., previously of Duke Street, Glasgow. Inducted 17th September 1868. Author of “The Idolatrous City and the spirit stirred;" and “Remains of Rev. R. Shirra of Kirkcaldy, with a memoir.”
RENFIELD STREET. For some years previous to Dr Heugh's death a desire was frequently expressed by a number of the members of Regent Place congregation to erect a new church in the western district of the city. This desire arose from the facts—that the tide of population was flowing westward, and creating need for church extension ; that the accommodation about Regent Place church was insufficient for the junior and senior classes, which were very numerously attended; and that a large number of the members living westward often found it very inconvenient to come so far east. Though this desire was long entertained by the persons who ultimately gave effect to it, yet nothing definite was done in the matter till about the end of the year 1846, when at a joint meeting of elders and managers the subject was formally brought under consideration. The congregation entertained the proposal, and appointed a committee to look out for a site. Those most forward in the cause anticipated that the congregation as a whole would move to the new church when
erected, but a number of the members, composed chiefly of those who lived in the eastern district of the city, began in the meantime to consider it inexpedient to abandon the place of worship in Regent Place, situated as it is in a locality densely populated, and standing greatly in need of religious supervision; and that it would therefore be better to allow their west end friends to build another church, and remove to it, if so disposed. Accordingly, when the congregation was called upon to decide the question, 197 voted for remaining and 142 for removing, the majority abstaining from voting, and leaving themselves at liberty to act as circumstances might determine. Meanwhile the church in Renfield Street was in course of erection, and was opened in August 1848, capable of containing 1236 sitters. Eleven elders and 400 members were accordingly disjoined, with Dr Taylor as their minister, sith July 1848. The church premises cost in all about £12,695, 35. 5d. The opening collection was £750, and during the first five years of its existence the congregation raised £16,000.
ist Minister.—JAMES TAYLOR, D.D., previously of Regent Place, Glasgow. Removed with a large portion of his people to Renfield Church, 11th July 1848.
Author of "Pictorial History of Scotland ;" “ Lecture on Man's Free Agency and Responsibility;" “Lecture on Combinations and Strikes ;" “Sermon on the death of Dr Heugh ; " " Picturesque Tourist of Scotland ;" and numerous articles in the “Encyclopædia Britannica," Edinburgh Review, “Imperial Dictionary of Biography,” etc.
SHAMROCK STREET. This congregation originated with friends of the denomination who were desirous of supplying church accommodation for the increasing population in the west end of the city. They petitioned the Presbytery for supply of sermon in July 1850, and were shortly after organised as a congregation. Church opened 6th October 1850, by Drs Anderson, Eadie, and Robson, with 900 sittings. Afterwards enlarged.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called the Rev. Dr Johnston of Limekilns, and Rev. Mr Robertson of Irvine, both of whom declined the calls.
1st Minister.— JAMES ROBERTSON, D.D., previously of Portsburgh, Edinburgh. Translated to Shamrock Street 6th November 1852. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by Union College, New York, 1852. Died 14th January 1861, in the 58th year of his age and 28th of his ministry.
Author of “The Power of the Civil Magistrate in matters of Religion ; " " Old Truths and Modern Speculations ; " “ History of the Presbyterian Church in Nova Scotia ;" “ Visit to Badony," a narrative of Revival Movements in Ireland.
The congregation called Rev. W. B. Robertson, Irvine, in April 1861, and Rev. R. Johnston, LL.B., Arbroath, in September, both of whom declined the calls.
2d Minister.—John Dobić, D.D., previously of Linlithgow (West). Inducted 30th April 1862. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the Western University, Chicago, United States, in 1871.
GORBALS. In 1850 a few persons formed themselves into a Christian Visiting Association, with the view of labouring for the good of the lapsed population in the district of Main Street, Gorbals. As intemperance was the great evil they had to contend with, they also formed a Total Abstinence Society, which soon had a large membership. These two agencies, the Christianising and the Temperance, were worked together with one view. The first place of meeting was enlarged by removing partitions
and making the whole flat of a house into a commodious hall. As the meetings increased, it was deemed proper to have a preaching station, which was obtained. Supply of sermon was furnished by ministers and preachers of various denominations. At last it was agreed to request the United Presbyterian Church to undertake the work and provide supply of sermon. In the summer of 1852 the Presbyterial Committee on Mission Churches invited the Rev. David Macrae of Oban to occupy the station, and on the 21st of October he began his work. This he prosecuted with such diligence and success, that on the 7th April 1853, 64 church members were declared a congregation. Three elders were afterwards ordained, and on the 25th August the Rev. David Macrae was unanimously called to the pastorate, and was inducted on the 29th September.
It was found necessary to erect a commodious place of worship. Accordingly, a new church was built, and opened for public worship on the first Sabbath of June 1854. The membership was then 141; in 1856 it had risen to 203; in 1857 to 275; and in 1858 to 334, being an average increase of 64 persons each year. A gallery was afterwards added, and the church re-opened in February 1859. In April of that year the church became self-supporting; and in 1860 the membership reached 468. In 1861 a hall and other rooms were added to the church; in April 1862 the membership had increased to 575. In ten years 845 persons had been received into communion, and 427 baptized.
The church was erected in 1854, cost £3000, holds 860. A new church is in course of erection.
Ist Minister.—DAVID MACRAE, M.A., previously of Oban. Inducted 29th September 1853.
The congregation called Rev. W. R. Murray, Ardrossan, who declined the call.
2d Minister.—John C. JACKSON, previously of Colinsburgh. Inducted 27th July 1869, as colleague to Mr M‘Crae.
BURNBANK. This congregation originated in an effort made by the Presbytery of Glasgow, about the year 1852, to create a number of mission churches. A hall was rented in Stewart Street, Cowcaddens, and Mr John M‘Laren, preacher, was invited by the Presbytery to begin evangelistic operations and endeavour to form a congregation. Endowed by nature with distinguished talent, and possessed of deep piety and earnestness, he began his work with thorough consecration, and from the very first it was attended with signal blessing. His work as a missionary began on the first Sabbath of October 1853, and after a congregation had been gathered and elders chosen, he was called to be their pastor, and ordained on the 31st October 1854. There were 34 members at his first communion; in 1856 there were 117, and the congregation in the hall numbered 300 persons. In the summer of 1856 an effort was made to get a church built; but it was not till May 1858 that the church in New City Road was opened. The membership of the church immediately increased. In January 1859 it had risen to 363, a clear increase of 120 in the course of one year. The church was seated for 950 persons, and cost about £3000. Mr M‘Laren preached only a few months in the new church, and administered the Lord's Supper only once in the new building.
After Mr M‘Laren’s death the church became self-supporting, and within five years a debt of £2000 was entirely extinguished. In ten years the congregation raised £6200 for ordinary and missionary objects. In 1871 the church in New City Road was sold to the Independents for £2100.. A new church, called Burnbank, was built in 1871-2, in Carrington Street, Great Western Road, costing £5000, with sittings for 1050, and was opened on 15th September 1872, by Rev. Professor Calderwood, Mr Pirret, and Mr Sprott. Collection, £450, 55. 6d.
Ist Minister.-JOHN M'LAREN, from Dennyloanhead. Called to Longridge, Haddington, and Perth (North). Accepted invitation to labour as missionary in Cowcaddens. Ordained 31st October 1854. Died 21st June 1859, in the 33d year of his age, and 5th of his ministry. A Memoir of his life, with a number of his sermons, was published by the Rev. P. Leys, in 1861.
2d Minister.—DAVID PIRRET, previously of Sutton. Inducted in March 1860.
Author of “Ethics of the Sabbath," a volume ; “ The Edinburgh Annuity Tax and Union, or Dr R. Buchanan's Assembly Speech Reviewed,” 1865; “The Church and the Masses :" an appeal, 1870.
FREDERICK STREET. The Rev. George Blyth of Hampden, Jamaica, having returned to this country about the year 1850, began mission work in Glasgow under the auspices of the Presbytery. He gathered a body of people in a hall in Stirling Square, who petitioned the Presbytery to be congregated, on 12th August 1852. A call was given to him on 12th August 1853, signed by 34 members and 34 adherents; and on 5th October he was inducted as minister of Canon Street Church. Mr Blyth laboured in the mission with much acceptance. In 1860 the church was so crowded that an effort was made to build a new one, which however failed from deficiency of funds. Mr Blyth induced twenty families, representing 46 members, to connect themselves with congregations more convenient for them, and there remained nearly 200 members on the roll. In consequence of age and infirmity, Mr Blyth resigned his charge, 13th January 1863, after which efforts were made to form a union between a congregation worshipping in the City Hall Saloon and Canon Street, which was not successful. A portion of the members of Canon Street removed to Mason Street Hall, 12th May 1863, and afterwards became Taylor Street Church. Their design was to form a church for Townhead district, on the high ground to the west of the Cathedral. Forty-six persons addressed a call to Mr Muckersie in 1864, which he accepted. Mason Street Hall was seated for 200, and, under Mr Muckersie, was soon filled. Plans were prepared for building a new church, when the church in North Frederick Street, formerly occupied by Dr Lorimer's Free Church congregation, was offered for sale in consequence of that congregation having removed to a new church in West Regent Street. The church in North Frederick Street was substantial and comfortable, and being immediately available, a purchase was effected, and Mr Muckersie and his congregation took possession thereof in November 1866, at the cost, including improvements, of £1600, with sittings for 850.
Ist Minister.-GEORGE BLYTH, missionary to Astracan, 1820; to Jamacia, 1823; returned to Scotland about 1850. Inducted at Canon Street 5th October 1853. Resigned 13th January 1863. Died 24th July 1866, in the 69th year of his age, and 47th of his ministry. Author of “Reminiscences of Missionary Life.”
2d Minister,—WALTER MUCKERSIE, formerly of Tayport. Inducted 31st May 1864.
CALEDONIAN ROAD. On the 2d October 1854, a few friends met together to consider the question of forming a new church on the south side of the river. Thereafter a public meeting was held in Anderson's School, Norfolk Street, on the 6th October 1854, Mr James Frisken, chairman. The following resolution was unanimously agreed to:—“That this meeting considers that, from the increase of the population in that part of the city situated on the south side of the river, there is an existing necessity for increased church accommodation, and more particularly in connection with the United Presbyterian Church.” Other resolutions giving effect to the above were also passed; and, in pursuance thereof, an application was made by the parties interested to the Presbytery of Glasgow to form them into a congregation. The application was granted, and the congregation formed on the 12th December 1854. The congregation met in Wellington Place Academy till the erection of a church. A site being obtained in Caledonian Road, the church was built thereon, and was named accordingly. The church was opened on the 4th Sabbath of March 1857. The number of sittings was 1049, but, by alterations on the gallery, 60 additional sittings have been added. The cost of the building was about £7500.
ist Minister.-ROBERT T. JEFFREY, M.D., formerly of Denny. Inducted 29th April 1856.
Author of “Voices from Calvary ;" “ Sermon on the Indian War ;" on “The Commercial Crisis, 1857;” “The God-Man, Christ Jesus ;" “ Have we a Sabbath to Keep?” and “A Tribute of Affection to the Memory of a Beloved Wife."
ST ROLLOX. The Rev. David Forrest having resigned his charge of the congregation of Troon, 13th April 1852, removed to Glasgow, where he took up his abode. In 1853, he began missionary work in the district of St Rollox; and in 1855, the persons whom he had gathered together were formed into a congregation. In 1856, he was inducted as minister of the congregation. Next year an effort was made to procure funds for the erection of a church, but owing to the commercial collapse, it was not successful. A site was obtained in 1860, and assistance given by many Christian friends, as well as a liberal grant from the Ferguson Fund. The church was opened on 24th March 1861, containing 440 sittings, and costing £1100.
Ist Minister.-David FORREST, previously of Troon. Inducted 4th March 1856.
A few individuals, mostly belonging to Wellington Street Church, being impressed with the amount of intemperance, immorality, and practical disregard of religious ordinances prevailing in a large portion of Anderston, met together in the beginning of 1852 to deliberate as to the best means of remedying these evils. They secured the Temperance Hall in Jameson's Lane, for the purpose of carrying on mission work. Public worship was conducted there morning and evening, city missionaries, and sometimes laymen, presiding. In this way the work was carried on for about three years, when it was felt that, in order to secure permanent results and establish a congregation, a minister was necessary. The committee having learned that the Rev. William Miller, late of Longridge, was disengaged, secured his services. Mr Miller began his labours on 4th November 1854 in Catherine Street schoolroom. In June 1855, a petition, signed by 130 names, was presented to Glasgow Presbytery, praying to be congregated, which was granted. The church in Cheapside Street was opened for public worship in November 1856; sittings, 632 ; cost, exclusive