« ZurückWeiter »
5th Minister.—ALEXANDER OLIVER, B.A., previously of Galashiels. Admitted 26th January 1856. Author of “The Universal and Perpetual Obligation of the Sabbath ;" Editor of The Young Men's Magazine, etc.
CALTON. This congregation originated in the spring of 1820. The Old Reformed Presbyterian Church was bought, taken possession of in 1821, and fitted up with sittings for 1394.
ist Minister.—JAMES TURNBULL, previously of Colinsburgh. Translated to Calton 27th June 1820. Deposed 3d July 1827. Died some time after.
2d Minister.—ALEXANDER HARVEY, previously of Kilmarnock. Translated to Calton 17th January 1828. Moderator of Relief Synod, 1838. Died 25th September 1843, in the 47th year of his age, and 22d of his ministry.
Author of “A Farewell Address to the Congregation of King Street, Kilmarnock," 1828 ; a pamphlet entitled “The Objects and Principles of Voluntaries Vindicated ;” another entitled ** The Voluntary Principle in Relation to National Responsibility, and the Religious Instruction of the Poor ;" author of “ İntroductory Essay to the Theological Class-Book ;" " Compulsory Payment in Support of Religion Proved to be Contrary to Scripture ;” “The Memory of the Righteous : a Sermon Preached in the Relief Church, Lanark, on the Sabbath after the funeral of the Rev. John M.Farlane ;” and “ Moral Causes of the Present Commercial Distress.”
3d Minister.—JAMES GIFFEN STEWART, from Anderston, Glasgow. Ordained 23d July 1844. Author of “The Anti-Sabbatarian Defenceless," 1854.
ERSKINE CHURCH. This congregation, formerly known as Nicolson Street, Laurieston, was originally in connection with the Congregational Union of Scotland, and acceded along with their minister to the United Associate Synod, 30th January 1821.
Ist Minister.— JOHN CAMPBELL, previously of Dundee. Removed to Glasgow, 1811, when the place of worship in Nicolson Street, Laurieston, was built for him. The congregation to which he ministered in Dundee had been previously in connection with the Relief Synod, and though calling itself Independent, retained so much of Presbyterianism as to be ruled by a session. Mr Campbell attempted to introduce the government of a session into his congregation in Glasgow, but the leading men of the Congregational Union in the city discountenanced the scheme, and his Presbyterian leanings led him to join the Secession Church. Admitted 27th February 1821. Died, 1828, in the 58th year of his age, and 28th of his ministry. Author of "An Exposition of Daniel, xii. 5-7.” A memoir of Mr Campbell was published by Rev. Dr M‘Farlane, one of his successors, in 1844.
2d Minister.—JAMES SMITH, D.D., from Denny. Ordained 14th April 1830. Resigned 10th December 1839. Emigrated to America, and became minister of a congregation in Washington, Pennsylvania. Returned to this country on account of ill health, and died in Glasgow 12th March 1845. Dr Smith published two discourses, entitled “The Saints' Love to the House of God ;" and “The Duty and Advantages of United Zeal in Christian Societies.”
3d Minister.—JOHN MʻFARLANE, LL.D., previously of Kincardine. Admitted, 220 September 1840. Had the degree of LL.D. conferred upon him by the University of Glasgow, 1841. Translated to London, Clapham, 15th April
To make room for the large congregation Dr M‘Farlane had gathered, a new church with 1200 sittings, which cost above £ 5000, was built in South Portland Street, and named Erskine Church, to which the congregation removed in 1843.
4th Minister.-ROBERT S. DRUMMOND, A.M., D.D., previously of Edinburgh (James' Place). Admitted 22d May 1862. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the University of Glasgow in 1869. Called by and translated to the English Presbyterian Church, St John's Wood, London, 3d June 1872; the first result of the scheme of “Mutual Eligibility” of ministers adopted by the English and United Presbyterian Synods. Author of a Sermon on occasion of the death of Rev. J. More, Alloa; and “Memoir of Rev. Dr French,” prefixed to his Sermons.
I ST VINCENT STREET. This congregation originated in 1823 with members of different United Secession congregations in Glasgow, and chiefly those of Greyfriars and East Campbell Street churches, desirous of extending the interests of their denomination. The church first built was called Melville Street, and was then in the outskirts of the city. It was opened in May 1823. The name by which it was better known was Gordon Street. It cost £4460, with about 1600 sittings.
On account of the great increase of the value of property in Gordon Street, the congregation in March 1856 authorised their managers to take offers for the property belonging to it, and to look for another site for a church. Ere long the site in St Vincent Street was chosen. Church opened in February 1859, with sittings for 1380, at a cost of £20,000; opening collection, £402.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called Mr Nicol, who was appointed by the Synod to Jedburgh, and Mr John Smart, who was appointed to Leith.
Ist Minister.—ALEXANDER O. BEATTIE, M.D., D.D., previously of Kincardine. Admitted 18th October 1825. Studied medicine at the University of Glasgow, and took the degree of M.D., 1833. Had the degree of D.D. conferred upon him by the College of Oxford, Ohio, Miami, U.S., 1844. Had a purse containing 300 sovereigns presented to him on occasion of his jubilee, 26th May 1857. Died 10th June 1858, in the 75th year of his age, and 51st of his ministry.
In 1854 the congregation called the Rev. G. M. Middleton to be colleague to Dr Beattie, who preferred remaining in his charge at Kinross. On a second call being presented in 1855, he was translated to Glasgow as colleague to Dr Beattie.
2d Minister.-GEORGE MARSHALL MIDDLETON, previously of Kinross. Inducted 20 October 1855. Died 3d July 1866, in the 40th year of his age, and 16th of his ministry. A memoir of Mr Middleton has been published, with sermons by Mr Rennie and Dr M'Ewen.
The congregation called Rev. J. M. Harvie as colleague to Mr Middleton, but he remained in Alloa.
3d Minister.- JAMES RENNIE, previously of Dalkeith. Admitted as colleague to Mr Middleton, ist August 1865.
EGLINTON STREET. This congregation originated in 1824, with members of the different United Associate Congregations in Glasgow, with the view of extending the denomination on the south side of the Clyde, where the city was rapidly spreading. The church was built in 1825. Cost £4104, containing 1218 sittings.
Ist Minister.—John Johnston, previously of St Andrews. Translated to Glasgow, 1825. Resigned 9th March 1841. Emigrated to America, and obtained a settlement as a minister in Jersey City, New York. Returned to Scotland in 1854. Died at Moffat 4th May 1864, in the 8oth year of his age.
The congregation called Rev. W. Johnston of Limekilns, who declined the call.
2d Minister.-William BURGESS, A.M., previously of Urr. Admitted 28th April 1842. Died 6th August 1862, in the 53d year of his age, and 26th of his ministry.
The congregation called Rev. James M'Owan, Perth, who declined the call.
3d Minister.—WALTER MORISON, B.A., previously of Ayr. Inducted 23d March 1864. Called to Brighton in 1870, but declined the call. Translated to London, Westbourne Grove, 14th February 1871.
4th Minister—George Hill Dick, formerly of Stockbridge. Admitted 4th January 1872.
CAMBRIDGE STREET. This congregation originated with members of different Secession congregations in Glasgow, desirous of extending the interests of their denomination in the city. They selected a site for a Secession place of worship at the boundaries of Barony and St George's parishes, and built a church with sittings for 1016; cost, £3110. The congregation was organised, 11th November 1834.
1st Minister.—JOHN EADIE, D.D., LL.D., from Tillicoultry. Ordained 24th September 1835. Appointed Professor of Biblical Literature by the United Associate Synod, 1842, which appointment he held at the Union of the Secession and Relief Churches in 1847, when he was appointed Professor of Hermeneutics and Christian Evidences by the United Presbyterian Church. Had the degree of LL.D. conferred upon him by the University of Glasgow, 1844, and the degree of D.D. by the University of St Andrews in January 1850. On 29th November 1860, his semi-jubilee, he was presented with a silver tray and 300 sovereigns. Removed with a portion of his congregation to Lansdowne Church, roth November 1863.
The congregation called Rev. W. Sprott, Pollokshaws, in December 1863, who declined the call.
2d Minister.—ROBERT CAMERON, formerly of Egremont, Liverpool. Admitted 4th October 1864.
BLACKFRIARS STREET, RELIEF (Now Extinct). In October 1836, a congregation in Regent Place, Blackfriars Street, under the pastoral charge of Rev. Robert Jackson, Independent, applied to the Relief Presbytery of Glasgow to be taken under their inspection. The congregation was received by the Presbytery, but not the minister, who then withdrew from it and returned to England.
The congregation called Mr John Grahame, previously of Newcastle. Admitted 21st September 1837. Translated to Duke Street, 25th November 1841. The property in Blackfriars Street was then sold.
EAST REGENT PLACE, SECESSION (Now Extinct). This congregation originated with a portion of Duke Street, Glasgow, who wished to retain the Rev. Walter Duncan for their minister, after he had been deposed from his office by the Presbytery of which he was a member. In the faith that he would be restored to his status as a minister, they built a place of worship in Regent Place, Blackfriars Street, in 1838, containing 1370 sittings.
After the completion of the church, the congregation petitioned the Synod to restore Mr Duncan to his office, but the Synod refused compliance with this request. A portion of the congregation withdrew, leaving the remainder, who were still in connection with the Synod, in possession of the property, and built another place of worship in Parliamentary Road.
Before obtaining a fixed pastor, the congregation called the Rev. Mr Cooper of Fala, the Rev. Joseph Brown of Dalkeith, and Rev. A. Rutherford of Falkirk.
1st Minister.—John PEDEN, from Newmilns. Ordained 3d July 1838. Resigned 1841. Admitted to Church Street, Berwick, 1842.
2d Minister.- ALEXANDER DUNCAN, previously of Girvan. Admitted 20th June 1842. This congregation formed a junction with the congregation in Duke Street, 1846, and Mr Duncan and his congregation removed thither. The property in Blackfriars Street was sold.
LONDON ROAD. This congregation originated with members of different religious denominations in the eastern suburbs of Glasgow, desirous of supplying that locality with church accommodation. After the place of worship was erected, the persons taking interest in the movement met and deliberated in reference to the religious denomination under whose inspection it should be placed, when the United Şecession Church was preferred. Church opened, 13th August 1837; sittings, 1094.
Ist Minister.—GEORGE JEFFREY, D.D., from Coldstream. Ordained 1839. Called by Jane Street Associate Reformed Congregation, New York, 1853, but preferred remaining in Glasgow. Had the degree of D.D. conferred on him by New York University, 1861. Author of “The Present War:” a Sermon.
PARLIAMENTARY ROAD. In October 1837 about 70 persons, who had previously been members of Duke Street Church, presented a call to Rev. Walter Duncan. The call was accepted by that gentleman, and in December 1837 he began his ministry among them in the Trades' Hall. About a year afterwards a church was built in Parliamentary Road, and was opened for public worship in June 1839, with 1100 sittings; cost £3200. It was the first building in that part of the city.
Ist Minister.—WALTER DUNCAN, previously of Duke Street, received with his congregation into fellowship with the United Presbyterian Church, 30th June 1863. Died 27th December 1870, in the 63d year of his age, and 41st of his ministry. Author of two Sermons which appeared in “ The Scottish Pulpit.”
The congregation called Rev. A. M‘Leod, D.D., of Claughton, Birkenhead, who declined the call.
2d Minister.—ROBERT JOHNSTONE, LL.B., formerly of Arbroath (Princes Street). Admitted 3d January 1872.
MONTROSE STREET. The Rev. H. M. MacGill was ordained in 1837 as colleague to the Rev. Dr Muter of Duke Street. The congregation prospered for three and a half years under the joint ministry, when, in consequence of an agitation which had arisen, Mr MacGill felt it to be his duty to tender to the Presbytery the resignation of his charge. While his resignation lay on the table, and the Presbytery were dealing with the congregation with the view of restoring peace, he received a call from the congregation of Airdrie. At the same time 180 members of Duke Street, and six elders, petitioned the Presbytery to be disjoined and formed into a separate congregation, with Mr MacGill for their minister. At a meeting of Presbytery on 10th November 1840, Mr MacGill was called upon to state whether he would accept the call to Airdrie, or would prefer to cast in his lot with the petitioners from Duke Street, should their petition be complied with. Mr MacGill having declared himself in favour of the latter alternative, the Presbytery decided to grant the prayer of the petition, and the petitioners were accordingly erected into a new congregation under his pastoral charge.
The congregation thus formed met for public worship for a year in the Mechanics' Hall, North Hanover Street. In November 1841 they took possession of a church which they had erected for themselves in Montrose Street ; cost, £3000 ; sittings, 1000. In 1862 the congregation purchased a house in Richmond Street, to be used as a manse for their minister, at a cost of £1160. • Ist Minister.—HAMILTON MONTGOMERY MacGill, D.D., previously of Duke Street. Admitted 10th November 1840. Was appointed by the Synod Home Mission Secretary in May 1858, which involved the resignation of his pastoral charge. Appointed Foreign Mission Secretary in 1868. Received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1870.
Author of Life of Dr Heugh; “Address at the Jubilee of Dr Stark, Dennyloanhead ;" “Thoughts on Revival ;” “ Present Revival in Scotland," 1860 ; “The Weapons of the Christian Warfare not Carnal ;” Sermon preached before the Synod of Jamaica, 8th February 1871, on Eph. iv. 12. Translator of Latin Hymns into English verse ; conductor for many years of the Juvenile Missionary Magazine ; and afterwards Editor of the Missionary Record.
2d Minister.—DAVID YOUNG, previously of Milnathort. Inducted to Montrose Street, 22d March 1859.
Author of “Readings in Genesis,” “Notes of a Tour in the East," and various other contributions to the United Presbyterian Magazine ; compiler of “The Scottish Sabbath School Hymn
A petition was presented to the Glasgow Relief Presbytery on the 7th May 1844, by 299 persons, designating themselves “Members of the various Relief churches and others,” craving to be recognised as a forming congregation under their inspection. The prayer of the petition was granted, and they were organised as a congregation in connection with the Relief Synod, 11th June 1844. They met in the Mechanics' Hall, Canning Street, Calton, till September 1845, when they removed to a place of worship they had erected in Great Hamilton Street, at a cost of £3600, with accommodation for 1000 sitters. This edifice they named “Gillespie Church,” after the principal founder of the Relief Church.
ist Minister.—John W. BORLAND, previously of Broomgate, Lanark. Admitted