« ZurückWeiter »
defunde, is a small pretty vil- sons, its inhabitants were about 336. lage on the great western road, 13 They now amount nearly to 900. miles from London, and adjoining Between the nave and chancel of Hoanslow Heath. By a strange cor- the Church is a fine arch of Saxon ruption, which is extremely preva- architecture, with zigzag mouldings, lent, this village is now generally much defaced and decayed by frequent known by the name of Belfound. Its whitewashing; it is 12 feet high by 8 name is variously accounted for wide. There is another in much betSome imagine it to be derived from ter preservation at the entrance of the Bede's fount, or Bellefont, there Church, 71 feet high by 4 wide. In being a small beautiful spring of wa- the nave and chancel there are four ter still existing on the public road- very small lancet windows; others have side, which is kept clean, and much been added at different times of various valued, it being considered very effi- kinds of Gothic, all of stone. The cacious in diseases of the eyes ; there West end window is very handsome, is another fine spring in the neigh- and that over the altar still contains a bourhood of this, which supplies the few panes of glass of the white rose, village generally, though it is private which fixes its date between 1461 and property.
1483, the time of the House of York. The manor of Bedfont is mentioned There are no monuments of partiunder the name of East Bedfont (to cular note, On the North wall of the distinguish it from a hamlet called chancel is one to the memory of Mrs. West Bedfont, in the adjoining pa- Anne Sherborne, 1815, whose name rish of Stanwell) as early as the time is endeared in the recollection of her of Edward the Confessor. In the virtues. Near it is the following coat beginning of the 14th century this of arms: Az, a fesse wavy, between manor was given by John De Neville three lions passant Or. to the priory of Hounslow. It was On the floor are the tombs of Mrs. afterwards granted by Queen Eliza- Isabel Page, 1629. Matthew Page, beth to Sir Michael Stanhope, by the gent. 1631, and Francis Page, 1678. intermarriage of whose daughter with On that of the latter is the following George Lord Berkeley, it passed to the couplet: Berkeley family. In 1656 it was sold « A virtuous life, and a good old age, by George Berkeley, esq. (son and Perfume the memory of Francis Page.” heir to the preceding) to Algernon Earl of Northumberland, from which On the North wall of the nave is a it has regularly descended to the pre- neat marble monument to the memory sent Duke.
of Mary, wife of Henry Whitfield, The manor of Hatton, a hamlet D.D., who died in 1795 : on which appended to the parish of Bedfont, has since been placed the following has been annexed to the latter since inscription : the year 1376. The Parish Church, dedicated to
<< Henricus Whitfield, S.T.P. de Ruthe Virgin Mary, is a small ancient Ecclesiæ per annos quadraginta duos Vica
shall in Comitatu Wilt. Rector, et hujusce structure; consisting of a nave and rius; Vir, si quis alius, doctus, pius venechancel of one pace, tiled, with a mo- rabilis. Obiit Die Julii 9. anno salutis 1819. dern wooden spire. The nave, in- Ætatis 88." cluding the space under the belfry, lately fitted up with benches, will ac- What, however, renders the village commodate about 100 adults, of which of Bedfont so remarkable and wellonly 58 sittings, including the Sunday- known, are the two yew trees in the school boys, are appropriated as free Church-yard, cut in topiary. On one sittings to the poor. There is also a of them is the date when they assumed small gallery, containing three pews, this fictitious shape, 1704, and on the private property, and sittings behind the other are to be seen the initials of for about six singers. There has been the parish officers for that year, J. H. a great increase in the population of and J. G. R. T. John Hatchet, John this parish within the last few years Goodwin, Robert Tillyer. owing to the inclosure of Hounslow Here is no register of bantisms or GENT. MAG. Septengler, 1825.
[Sept. marriages of an earlier date than 1695; In 1690 Queen Elizabeth gave the that of burials commences in 1678. Rectory of Bedfont, with the advow
There is an earlier book, entitled, son of the Vicarage, to the Bishops of “Estbedfont, the Church booke of London and his successors in that see. accompts, as well for the Church- The Vicars of Bedfont since 1700 wardens and Overseers for the Poore, are here given from the Bishop of Lonas also for ye Churchraytes, according don's register. as everie house is a portioned. This 1706. Stephen Fouace. booke conteyneth all yat was conteyn- 1720. John Jaumard, B.A. ed in a fornier booke in yo yere of or 1740. Jolin Higgate. Lord, 1593, to ye yere 1627 (.... farre 1761. John Gibson. goeth ye old booke. This booke be- 2777. Henry Whitfield, D.D. ginneth in ye yere 1628." There are 1819. William Forth Protheroe, M.A. no entries of inuch moment in this 1823. Robert Jones, D.D. F. R. S.L. old book.
the present vicar. In 1593 is the following list of The view, here given, (see Plate I.) “ Church goods.
of the Church and the yew trees, was " In primis one new Bible.
taken by Mrs. Graham in 1824. R. T. “It: one new surplus of holland. " It. a communion cup of silver, with &
Sept. I, « It. a booke of common prayer.
PHE following topographical re“It. a paraphrase of Erasmus.
he of « Jt. a booke of
St. Columb, in Cornwall, were sug. “ It. a regyster boke of pay."
gested by a well-written account of In the next account is,
Padstow, in the same county, which “A great new pote of pewter, with a co- appeared in your Magazine for April, ver, for ye communion."
p. 320. The writer has traced, with In 1609 “Mr. Jewell's works" were a due reference to dates, the incidents added.
connected with those remains of anIn 1629 there are several entries of tiquity which present themselves in gifts to indigent Preachers and Minis- the town and its immediate vicinity. ters, and one to a Welsh preacher. Cornwall abounds with additional re
In 1632 to the Church goods is add- lations, which serve personally to coned “a liule pay book” to write the nect the patron saints with their renames of strange' preachers in. spective parishes : in many instances " It the book of Ecclesiastical Canons."
the character of these leyends is doubt“ In 1633 John Page gave unto the Church ful and contradictory; in the present,
a fayre grean carpet, fringed about with however, St. Columba appears to posgreene silk 'fringe, and embroidered, to sess a more decided claim to the ate be laid upon the communion table every tention of the provincial historian. Sabbath day."
Alluding to the existence of Pagan In 1635 a trencher plate and napkin superstition, Mr. Whitaker directs our were added, which is the last Church- attention to Tresadern, a residence property entry in the book.
near the town, as probably representThere are few parishes less indebted ing the temple of Saturn; and we to benefactors than Bedfont.
find, according to the same authority, In the Church-yard are no tomb- a Cornish sovereign resident at Trestones or monuments worthy of note, kyninget at the commencement of except perhaps one erected about 60 the fourth century; and not far from years ago, to the memory of John
“ John Goodwin" occurs, in the reStanley, "King of the Gypsies," at the cost of his subjects. The tomb is now gister about this time as vicar: whose name, much decayed, and the slab fastened however, according to Lysons, does not aptogether by iron cranks, is laid pear in the Bishop's register,
upon the fragments that remain, now, nearly luded to. It was in the reign of Edward
+ Higher Trekyninge is the station allevel to the earth. It bore the follow- III. the property of the Arundels and the ing inscription :
Hamelys, and at a later period for some ge« Readers all, as you pass by,
nerations in the family of Jenkyn. The As, you are now, so once was I ; greater part of the ancient mansion, which As I am wow, so you must be, was a building of considerable extent, was Prepare for death and follow me." pulled down in the reign of James the First.
1825.] On the early History of St. Columb, Cornwall.
203 thence the burial-place of some dis- casting its awful gleam upon the sides of the tinguished Briton known by the name hills opposite, and carrying a strong terror of the Coyt. - This monument is com- with it to the heart of every secret but posed of five massy stones, one cover cowardly Christian. Here too I suppose ing, three supporting, and one but was seen the Virgin Saint of Christianity, tressing, and surikes upon the eye as à already a confessor, soon to be a martyr, solitary remnant of ancient grandeur,
looking down with a smile all that
upon over which ages have rolled, but which earth and hell could inflict, as eager to pass still seems haughtily to plead for glories caliär blessedness of martyrs in 'eternity.
on the wings of hovering angels to the pegone. Such was the tomb of a Bri- The Church was naturally fixed upon the lish sovereign in the time of Diocle- very ground upon which its own martyr had tian. Its surly magnificence has, how- suffered.” ever, been long since appropriated as a Castle-an-Dinas, which rears its barreceptacle for pigs, and the antiquary ren summit a short distance South of surveys this humiliating exchange with St. Columb, is one of the most consifeelings scarcely less powerful than derable earth-works in the county, and those which filled the mind of the was formerly known by the appellaclassic enthusiast on beholding the tion of King Arthur's Castle: the untemple of Peace in the Roman forutn cultivated tract of land which widely converted into a sheepfold;
extends itself around it is called the “Damoosa quid non inmiduit dies!” Hor. Gos Moor, and was 'noticed as the
scene of the hunting excursiods of the la proceeding to potice the emi. British pritice, to commemorate which nently pious individual, 'to whom St. Columb is indebted for its name, it the impress of his horse's foot. Hals
a stone was heretofore shown bearing may be proper to refer to Camden, mentions a tradition of the ground who tells us from the information of having been once covered with trées, Nicholas Roscarrock, a gentleman from whence the Church of St. Cohighly prized by Carew for his indus lumb was supplied with the wood neurious delight in matters of history and antiquity, that St. Columba was a holy time, however, the adjacent country
cessary for its erection; in Leland's visgio and martyr: her life existed at
presented prospect as wild and desti that time in the Cornish language, and
tute of foliage as at present. Hals also was in the possession of Mr. Roscar. speaks of the castle as a famods antock, who had translated it into Eng- cient British treble intrenchment;" lish; but the decay of the ancient but the other antiquarian aathorities vernacular tongue, and the Gothic spi- appear more favourable to a Roman rit of Protestant indifference, equally origin. contributed to the neglect and final
Independently, however, of these disappearance of this biographical me- interesting associations connected with moit. Mr. Whitaker in his “Cathe- the British æra, St. Columb lays claiin dral of Cornwall" (vol. 11. 82, 90) is to peculiar attention, as having been quite animated on the subject of the for so many centuries under the lordVirgin Martyr, and with his usual re- ship and patronage of the "great gard to topographical accuracy, thus Arundels of Lanherne,” who for many sympathizes in her sufferings.
descents lie there interred ; " and "The King of Corowall, a Pagàn, resi- greatest stroke for love, living, and redent in the royal house of Trekyninge, pro- spect, in the country heretofore they bably in consequence of Diocletian's edict, bare," (Carew, A.D. 1602, fo. 144). ordered a young woman of the Roman name It is needless to enter into a detail of of Columba to be put to death for her the eminent men who have descended Christianity. The scene of the execution from that illustrious stock: they were he directed to be North of his own house, indeed true in counsel, and trusty in behind the hill that backs it on the North; peril
, and have achieved for themselves and upoa the very site of the present Church- and for their name a goodly niche knuse not to annoy his feelings with either among the patriots of other days. The the sight or the heating of the deed during Baron Arundels of Trerice originally ile transaction, yet resting higher than any sprung from the same family, although immediately adjacent, even looking down
there seems to be considerable differinto a steep valley on the North, and con- ence of opinion with regard to dates ; spicuous from all the high lands beyond. some connecting the branches in DeHere I suppose the fatal fire was kiádled, vonshire, others in Cornwall, through
the num, &c.
On the early History of St. Columb, Cornwall. (Sept. the house at Tolcarn. They both bear thus vested in the Wardour family, the same arms; Sable, six swallows was transferred by purchase about the in pile Argent, from the French hi- commencement of the present century rondella, in reference to their name; from James Everard, ninth Lord Arunthis bearing has been alluded to by del, to the late Thomas Rawlings, esq.* an early English poet in commenda- of Saunders Hill near Padstow, to tion of their valour. A.D. 1170. whom a view of the town is inscribed Hirundelæ velocior alite quæ dat
by Mr. Polwhele, in his History of Hoc agnomen ei, fut cujus in ægide dig- Cornwall.
The Rectory of St. Columb is one of Leland, indeed, says that the Tre- the most valuable in Cornwall : it is rice branch did not bear the same estimated in the King's books at 531. arms: this must have been either a 6s. 8d. The patronage was for several mistake, or at that time they might years the property of the Trefusis fahave borne those of Lansladron only, mily; and the present incumbent is Sable, three chevronels Argent, which the Rev. John Trefusis, brother of the they afterwards always quartered with late Lord Clinton. The parsonage those of Arundel
. In support of this house is situated in a steep but fertile suggestion, Carew says, s Divers Cor- valley at the South of the church; it is nish gentlemen born younger brothers, surrounded by a spacious lawn, and and advanced by match, have left their the declivities of the hill, which rises own coats, and honoured those of their towards the town, have been judiwives with the first quarter on their ciously planted. A stream runs through shields, so that the arms of one stock the valley, which contributes to the are greatly diversified in the younger freshness and beauty, as well as to the branches. There were frequent col- calm and undisturbed retirement of lateral matches between the families at
the scene. subsequent periods.
The house was built in the fifteenth The lordship of St. Columb was century by John Arundel, Bishop of originally part of the lands belonging Exeter, a younger son of Renfrey Arunto the Priory of Bodmin. In the thir. del, Sheriff of Cornwall, in the 3d of teenth century it became the property
Edward IV. who removed the parsonof the Arundels, in which family, it age from its original site, on the North continued until the death of Sir John side of the church, to its present situaArundel of Lanherne, in 1701, the tion in the valley. The dilapidated last of his house in Cornwall who bore remains of the old college or rectory, that name. Richard Arundel Bealinge, where Bishop Arundel received his esq. the son of his only daughter, who early education previously to his remarried Sir Richard Bealinge, knt. moval to Exon College, Oxford, and succeeded to the family estates.
This which Hals erroneously calls a college gentleman left two daughters; Frances, of Black Monks, were totally consumed the eldest, married Sir John Gifford of by an accidental fire in 1701. Burstall, co. Lincoln, bart. and died The Rectory houses of our island without issue; Mary, the youngest,
were originally the only schools for therefore became the sole representa- education, and the inmates generally tive of the Lanherne Arundels, and consisted of the Rector and six subor. by marriage with Henry, seventh Ba- dinates; the Deacon, Sub-deacon, and ron Arundel of Wardour in 1739. Acolyth; the exorcist, lector, and osunited two branches of the family,
af. tiary; the Rector and Deacon in holy ter a separation of upwards of 200 orders, the remainder called Clerks, years. His monumental inscription from whence is derived the name of in Tisbury Church, Wilts, thus ele- the present assistants in our Churches. gantly commemorates this event :
The domestic arrangements of these “Qui Mariam Arundel, Lanhernia in * Mr. Rawlings was for a long series of Cornubią stirpis, nobilissimam hæredem, years actively and honourably engaged as a accepit conjugem ; inde filio ex eâ suscepto, Deputy Lieutenant and Magistrate for the clarissima hæc prosapia, quae ultra duo sæ- county of Cornwall. The commanding tacula fuerat divulsa, jam feliciter unita floret, lents and extended liberality of this gentleAoreatque semper, favente Deo.”
man were highly estimated by those who This extensive manor having been had the pleasure of his acquaintance. He
died at his seat in 1820, in the 63d year of * Brito, alias Breton, Phillippidos, Lib. u.