« ZurückWeiter »
Effigy of Bp. Shepey discovered at Rochester. (Sept. of which is taken from the Mosaic feet (great part of which had been pavement of an altar in St. William's broķen off) rested on two dogs, both Chapel. The removal of the old pan- damaged, the head of one being want. nelling in the choir allows the columns ing. The external robe, called the which support the groined roof and Dalmatica vestis, or dalmatic, was detheir carved corbels to be seen to per- cidedly of a pink colour, and reprefection; on the walls of the choir, sented as lined with some other cobrought to light by removing the lour which was scarcely visible; on wainscot, are a series of painted niches, the robe were figures of a diamond with columns and entablature, in the within a square, the collar being most taste of the seventeenth century. beautifully ornamented Underneath
The spire, built in 1749, is taken the dalmatic is the stola, but the ele. down, and it is in contemplation to gantly figured and painted border at case the tower on which it stood with the bottom is only seen. Under the Bath stone, and raise it twelve feet left arm is the staff of the crozier, the higher, with attached pinnacles at the head of which was gone. Round it a angles. I think the loss of the spire, napkin beautifully bordered was wrappoor as it was, will not be compen- ped, and to this staff the curved part sated by any additions of that descrip- of the crozier was fastened by an iron tion. The tower is not grand enough or brass pin, as the hole appeared in to stand alone as a decoration of a ca which the pin was riveted; the mani. thedral. As a pinnacled tower, it will plc, adorned with jewels, hangs from be scarcely grander than a parish the left wrist. The following inscripchurch; it could have been rendered tion is round the effigy: an object of eminence only by the
“ Hic jacet d’ns Joh'nes Cheppeie epi's spire being rebuilt on a loftier and in
istius eccl'ie.” proved plan. From the appearance of height 'such an object always pos
Two drawings were made by a persesses, there can be little doubt but son of the name of Harris, employed that the city would then possess an ob- by Mr. Cottingham the architect, ject far superior to the present tower,
one of which represents the effigy as in the most improved state in which it was found, and the other as Mr. as a tower it can be placed.
Cottingham supposed it to have been, I have mentioned the chief altera- with the features persect, and the fie tions in this Cathedral; the other re gure highly coloured. After this, Mr. pairs are merely substantial: when the Cottingham resolved on restoring the whole is finished I may have again to colours on the figure, in conformity address you.
E. 1. C. with the latter drawing, which was
accordingly done. A more minute description of Bp. fingers
, the feet, and one of the dogs'
The top of the mitre, nearly all the Shepey's figure has been furnished by
, heads,'have been subsequently found, “ An Admirer of Ancient Effigies, who was present at the discovery.
and joined to the efigy; the mitre is The Bishop lies in a recumbent pos- beard is also an addition, as it was not
therefore now complete. The painted ture under an elliptical arch in the there when first discovered. The dalNorth wall of the choir, which wall matic, instead of being a pink, is now divides the choir from St. William's Chapel. A large piece of the mitre and the shoes are painted yellow.
of a dull scarlet, with a green lining, had been broken off, and the nose, upper lip, and chin, greatly mutilated, evidently by a sword or other sharp
Sept. 19. instrument. An extremely beautiful
ITHIN the last few weeks a band attached to, and part of the mitre, adorned with an imitation of precious taken place in Westminster Abbey by stones, encircles the forehead. The the uncovering of a new altar-piece, head reposes on two superb cushions which has been for some time past in with tassels, the face painted of a flesh a state of preparation. colour, the hair of the eye-brows dis The front of the new screen (exetinctly marked, and the pupils of the cited by Bernasconi) presents a pretty eyes coloured. The hands of the Bi- faithful copy of its back, which forms shop, which had lost the fingers, are the West side of the Confessor's Chaclosed in the act of prayer, and the pel, with the exception of the cele.
most importante afera one khas
1625.) Allar Piece in Westminster Abbey.--County History.
297 brated biographical sculptures, the The original altar-piece was exactly omission of which leaves an unplea- similar, as may be seen in the represant blank. It consists of a series of sentation of Abbot Islip's funeral, in shrines, or rather omamented niches, the possession of the Society of Auticanopied with a profusion of delicate quaries, and published by them in the tabernacle work, and divided by two Vetusta Monumenta. The altar, howside-doors within squares, the pannel- ever, was then surmounted by a lofty ings of which being of glass, admit a rood and images, as well as either á view of the choir from the enclosure pinnacle or niche, which broke a cerbehind. In front is placed a stone iain dull and unpleasant effect arising altar of elegant workmanship.
from a plain surface. F.L. B.
COMPENDIUM OF COUNTY HISTORY-WILTSHIRE.
of the age, Chilmarke (Aourished thirteenth ceutury).
Lady Eleanor, mystical writer, wife of Sir John Davies, and daughter of Lord
James, Lord Chief Justice of Court of Common Pleas, 1734.
William, D.D. eminent historian and biographer, Salisbury, 1720.
Compendium of County History.-Willshire. ([Sept.
Philip Earl of Pembroke, brother of the above, Wilton (ob. 1649-50).
Sir Nicholas, Lord Treasurer, Tisbury (ob. 1631).
Alexander, Bishop of Salisbury, Salisbu:y (ob. 1667).
William, brother of the above, and no less celebrated as a loyalist and musician (ob. 1645). Ludlow, EDMUND, horest and independent republican, Maiden Bradley, 1620. Malmesbury, Oliver of. mathematician and astrologer, and the first English aërial voyager. (flourished in the eldyenth century).
William de, learned historian and librarian to the Abbey t, (Aor. 12th cent.) Mann, John, divine and politician, Laycock, 1568. Marlborough, Henry of, historian (flor fifteenth century). Maschiart, Michael, Latin poet and able civilian, Salisbury (ob. 1598). Massinger, Philip, eminent dramatic poet, Wilton, 1585. Matthew, Sir Toby, celebrated Jesuit and politician, Salisbury, 1577. Maton, Robert, celebrated divine, North Tidworth, about 1607. Merriott, Thomas, divine and author, Steeple Langford (ob. 1662). NORDEN, John, surveyor and topographer, about 1548. Norris, John, eininent divine, poct, and platonist, Collingbourne Kingston, 1657. Purt, William, truly patriot Earl of Chatham,
Stratford House, Old Sarum I, 1708. Plantagenet, Margaret, the mother of Cardinal Pole, Farley Castle, 1473. Potter, Francis, divine, and excellent mechanic, Mere, 1594. Raleigh, Dr. Ŝ whose misfortunes during the civil wars were truly distressing, Downton (ob.
1645). Rudburne, Thomas, Bishop of St. David's, Rudburne (ob. 1449). Sacheverell, Henry, botorious political preacher, Marlborough, 1672. Salisbury, John of, Bishop of Chartres, one of the most eminent scholars of the day, Salis
bury (ob. 1181). Scott, Dr. John, learned divine, Chippenham, 1639. Sedgwick, John, nonconformist divine, Marlborough, 1600.
Obadiah, brother of John, and learned divine, Mariborough (ob. 1658). Squire, Dr. Samuel, learned Bishop of St. David's, and Greek scholar, Warminster, 1714. Stephens, Nathaniel, learned divine, Stanton Barnard (ob. 1677).
Philip, physician and author, Devizes (ob. 1660). Tanner, Thomas, Bishop of Norwich, a most learned and useful antiquary, Market La
vington, 1674. Thornborough, John, Bishop of Worcester and excellent chemist, Salisbury, 1552. Tobin, John, dramatic author, Salisbury, 1770. Webbe, George, Bishop of Limerick, Bromham, 1581. Willis, Thomas, eminent physician and author, Great Bedwin, 1621. Wilton, John of, sen, a learned and subtle disputant, Wilton, close of thirteenth century.
Johu of, jun. an elegant and allegorical writer, Wilton (flourished Edward III.)
Thomas of, Dean of St. Paul's, London, a man of great learning and abilities. Winterburne, Walter, Cardinal of St. Sabin and polemist, Salisbury, about 1224. Withers, Philip, a writer of considerable distinction, Westbury (ob. 1790). Wren, Sir CHRISTOPHER, celebrated architect, East Kooyle, 1632. Zouch, Richard, learned civilian, Anstey, 1590.
MISCELLANEOUS REMARKS. At ALBOURNE King John is traditionally said to have had a hunting seat, part of
which remains.- This village is thought to have been described by Goldsmith in his “Deserted Village," but it is most probable that village was in Ireland. According to some at Purton.
† Some give him birth in Somersetshire. Seward's Anecdotes, vol. ii. where is a view of the house. The Editor of his Life, 3 vols. 8vo. says he was born in St. James's parish, Westminster; and another writer says in Devonshiro. f Grandson of Sir Walter.
1825.] Compendium of County History.-Wiltshire.
229 At ALDERTON died in 1684, Gore the antiquary, who was also born and buried
here. (Mentioned before.) AMESBURY House was the residence of the celebrated Duke and Duchess of
Queensberry, under whose patronage Gay spent the happiest years of his life,
and wrote some of his best pieces here. At Anstey the Hospitallers had a house founded by Walter de Turbevill, temp.
John. ASHCOMBE is situate upon an isolated knoll, in the centre of a circular amphi
theatre, formed by the surrounding hills. “ An inverted bason placed in the middle of a large china bowl will give a clear idea of this romantic spot. On
the circular top of the inner bason stands the house." Bemerton is interesting from its having been the residence and rectory of Bi
shop Curle, George Herbert, and John Norris, as it is now of Archdeacon
Coxe, distinguished names in the annals of literature. In Bishopstone Church are two stone coffins, generally supposed to have con
tained the relicks of two ancient Bishops. Amongst the curiosities at Bowood was a portrait of Oliver Cromwell, on leaf
gold, by Walker, the Protector's favourite artist. Near the aviary is a remarkable echo, which repeats every word three or four tiines. In the forest James
I. amused himself and courtiers with hunting. In BOYTON Church are two antient altar tombs to the Giffards. On one we
have the true origin of the label as a difference in armorial bearings. In the other Lady Margaret Giffard forgot the downfall of her family.--Here resides Aylmer B. Lambert, Esg. F. R. S. a gentleman well known in all our literary societies, and justly celebrated for his researches in botany and natural history.
- Between Boyton and Corton is a reniarkable place called Chapel or Chetile Hole ; where, according to tradition, a Church was swallowed up by diabolical agency. It was probably named cetel a chaldron, from a spring rising at its
bottom. The Corton beach is a vegetable curiosity. or Bremhill is Vicar the Rev. W. L. Bowles, the pathetic and eloquent poet.
Many of his poems “ were chiefly written here." At BROAD-CHALK, Aubrey possessed an estate, and here he occasionally resided. At BromuAm was born the Rev. John Collinson, historian of Somersetshire. At CALNE the Kings of Wessex had a palace. Near Calne, on Cheril-hill, is a
large white horse, formed by paring off the turf on the side of the chalk hill;
executed about 1780. At Charlton Park are some very valuable original portraits by Vandyck, &c. CHERILL was possessed by the great king-inaking Earl of Warwick. CHIPPENHAM, a favourite residence of the Kings of Wessex. Alfred bequeathed
the palace to his daughter Ethelfleda.-The origin of the extensive clothing trade is singular.-In Chippenbam Church is a monument to Sir Gilbert Pryn, kot.-Here died Mr. Thorpe, author of “Registrum Roffense, &c.”
buried at Hardenhuish, where also is interred the late David Ricardo, Esq. At ChitterNE All Saints are several memorials to the family of Maithew
Mitchell, who was employed to defend Zealand against the French, and to
assist the Dutch in restoring the Prince of Orange to the dignity of Stadtholder. At CLARENDON Priory, in the fifteenth century, were dug up the bones of a
monster, in length 14 feet 11 inches.-Clarendon gave title of Earl to the famous Edward Hyde, Lord Chancellor.--Here the celebrated Stephen Duck pursued the humble employment of thrasher, and whether labouring at the plough, the reap-hook, or the fail, the poetical works of Milton were ever in his hands. His melancholy enl was noticed under “Surrey." —Nothing now remains of Clarendon palace, the residence of some of our early monarchs,
but ruined walls and heaps of rubbish. OF CODFORD St. Mary was Rector the loyal Dr. Creed, who published a de
fence of Dr. Hammond's EXTEVEGTEROY against Mr. Jeanes. The Vicar of Corsham possesses very extraordinary privileges, having episcopal
jurisdiction within the parish.-At Corsham house is a valuable collection of paintings by Titian, Rubens, Vandyck, &c. &c. The river DEVERILL dives under ground like the Guadiana in Spain, and the
Mole in Surrey. (See vol. xciv.p. 33), and pursues its subterraneous course upwards of a mile; then rising, runs onward toward Warminster.
Three Egyptian Sepulchral Stones described. [Sept. Devizes Castle, characterized as the strongest fortress in Europe by our early
historians.- In the market place, many years ago, was a pillar recording a singular inark of divine vengeance:
(See Beauties of England, vol. xv. p. 430.) -Many curious Roman antiquities have been discovered here. S. T.
(To be continued.) MR. URBAN, Taunton, Sept. 20.
be a representation of Isis, with an
attendant. Both these figures are There have been a nat el presented sihing in chairs
, one behind the other stitution, by John Quantock, Esq. three the right-hand corner, and from the Egyptian Sepulchral Stones, brought appearance of the adjoining parts, it from the ruins of Thebes. They con would seem that some figure had occusist of one sculptural stone, one painted, pied the space, and one inscribed with hieroglyphical The second stone is painted, and characters. The figures on these stones contains a representation of the god appear to represent the Worship of Osiris, under another form. In this Osiris. On the sculptured stone there figure the head is that of a hawk. Osiris are two compartments; in the upper, being sometimes represented with the the Egyptian god, Osiris, is represented head of that bird, which, by its quick naked, sitting in a chair, with a cap on and piercing eyes, is a proper emblem his head, like a mitre, with two pro- of the sun, of which Osiris was the jections in imitation of horns;' he symbol. The head has the cap, simiholds a stick or rod in his left-hand, lår to a mitre, as in the sculptured bended at the top similarly to the pas stone. In the painting, the god, who toral staff of our Bishops—an emblem, is represented in the human shape, exit may be supposed, of that fatherly cept the head, is in a standing posture, protection of his people for which he clothed, holding with both hands, beis celebrated in history. In his right- fore him, the bended rod and whip, hand he holds a whip with three and also the crutched staff which is thongs, which may be regarded as a spoken of above as being held in the symbol of punishment in his charac- right-hand of the figure, who appears ter of a judge. There is an altar be to be addressing Osiris in the upper fore him, on which is placed a vase, compartinent. There are two female and over it hangs the Lotos. A figure figures, one behind the other; the stands in front of him, with a staff in female in front of the god is holding his right-hand, something like a crutch, up both her hands, as if in the act of but with the crutched part sideways, adoration, whilst the figure behind her and in bis left, which is hanging holds up only one hand. There is an dowwards, is an hieroglyphic, which altar of similar shape to that on the Dr. Young, in his Treatise on Hiero- sculptured stone, with a vase or urn glyphical Literature, gives as the em- upon it, between the figure of Osiris blem of life; it is the figure of the and the two females. It has been suga Hebrew Tau, with a ring at the top, gested that the painted stone, and which is held in the hand. In the ihat which is sculptured, though both Museum Worsleyanum, this hierogly- found in, and brought from, the same phic is said to be the symbol of Ty- place, are of different ages. There are phon, the brother of Osiris, and it is considerable patches of hieroglyphical here placed, doubtless, to identify the writing on both stones. figure of that personage. He appears The third stone is wholly inscribed as if addressing the god, and his coun with hieroglyphical characiers. It is tenance and attitude seem to breathe divided into two compartments, upper that defiance and violence which and lower, and each compartment into marked his character. Dr. Young seven columns. There are numerous says, that “ the symbol for brother or symbols on this stone, similarly with sister appears to be the crook generally those given in Dr. Young's work, seen in the hand of Osiris.” This which has been previously mentioned. strengthens the supposition that the Two or three observatious appear to figure addressing Osiris is that of Ty; arise out of the posture of the hands phon, the former holding in his hand of the two female figures which are the symbol of his relationship. represented on the painted stone. The The lower compartment seems to figure in front of Osiris is holding up